Skip to content

Summer plans, time to panic!

January 22, 2014

After 6 years of parenting you think I’d grow accustomed to being constantly reminded that I don’t have a fricken clue what I’m doing. The latest shock, in a long and unbroken string of things I wasn’t prepared for as a parent, was delivered just after Christmas by one of the city’s recreation centres. It came in the form of a glossy pamphlet announcing that SUMMER CAMP registration was opening January 2nd. That’s right, it’s apparently a requirement for us to now have our summer plans carved in stone by the beginning of January. Good bye airy-fairy, devil may care summer. So long unplanned days of playing hooky. See ya later…well, you get the point. Do people actually live like this? Do they like living like this? How do they live like this?

V’s in grade one now, so her (beloved) daycare no longer provides a summer program. I’ve always known this will leave 9 long weeks to be filled with care and activities. But in my mind (where it’s always sunshine and roses) I figured this would be a spring activity, not a 2 weeks into winter one. (And while I’d love to ditch my job every summer and hang with her, the reality is that if Bill and I want to spend any time together, we’ve got ourselves a wee bit of a shortfall.)

After crying on the shoulders of some co-workers, I’ve selected an outdoor day camp (1 week) and a swim camp (2 weeks) and I’m going to do my darndest to get them booked as soon as I can. Add these to the 3 weeks I can take this summer and we’re still left with…3. Three weeks I need to find care for V. Three weeks I really don’t want to get up at the buttcrack of dawn and drive her all over hell’s half acre (while most likely forgetting her lunch 2 of the 5 days).

Here’s what I’ve looked at so far:

YMCA – Hoping to get V in their day camp for a week
Camps Canada – Looking at their 2 week swim camp
Pottery playhouse – program looks awesome, V’s too young
Diefenbunker spy camp – She SO wants to do this, but again, too young.
Dovercourt Rec – wicked looking, but would be about an hour commute every morning and evening, so it’s tier two for the moment.

So I need help. I need advice, and I need recommendations. I’m looking for programs in the west to FAAAAR west of Ottawa for 6 year olds. I’m looking for programs you’ve loved. I’m not looking for sports camps, V’s just not down with that. Arts? Sure. Drama? WONDERFUL. Math or science? AWESOME. What have you loved? What have you hated? What should I know that I don’t yet?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2014 1:11 pm

    Crazy, isn’t it?

  2. January 22, 2014 2:53 pm

    Nessa LOVES Camps Canada! She did the 2-wk swimming camp last summer. We recommend it! In previous summers and March breaks, she’s also done the 1-wk craft camp and the 1-wk sports camp. Happy all around.

    • January 22, 2014 10:29 pm

      Good to know Deb! I’ve heard great things about the swim camp, glad to hear the others are good too.

  3. January 22, 2014 4:25 pm

    Cousin camp is also avail :)

  4. Cindy W permalink
    January 22, 2014 10:18 pm

    Anything through the museums that you can drop her at on your way to work? Or maybe you’re in Kanata? We’re not at this stage yet so I’m not sure…some schools are offering summer care since the all day kindergarten was introduced. Depends on the school and often up to age 12. Some childcare centres take on older kids for summertime. Maybe childrensplace.on.ca? They have a location at Leggett and Carling. HTH.

    • January 22, 2014 10:57 pm

      Hey Cindy, thanks for the tip on TCP! The main problem is my commute is *really* short. I live in Stittsville and work by the Canadian Tire Centre (and Bill works on Stittsville Main lol), so really I pass a couple of fields *g*. And because of our location our provider isn’t offering anything for the older kids – there’s *nothing* for them to do anywhere near the school.

  5. January 22, 2014 10:26 pm

    sleep away camp? would she be ready? my holly was and loved it and has been going ever since ( 10 years )…the camp is camp ouareau – http://www.ouareau.com.
    it is nothing short of awesome.
    my girlfriend just signed her 6 year old up for junior camp. might not be right for V but pretty terrific option for girls.

    • January 22, 2014 10:59 pm

      That camp looks ah-mazing! I want to go!

      She’s had the camp experience through Sparks (and loved it), so the question is really if I’m ready for it *g*

      Thank you so much!

  6. January 24, 2014 1:12 pm

    We have never done a camp before, but I am considering it for this summer. If we do, we’re going to do the Saunders Farm camp – I’ve heard it’s amazing. It’s a little out of your way, commute wise, but at least in the area.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,647 other followers

