Skip to content

My kingdom for a transfer cable!

July 8, 2010

There are days I love my camera – a Sony a100, there are days I want to upgrade my camera, there are days I can’t find my camera, camera bag or lens cap, but most irritating of all are the days I can’t find my USB transfer cable!
Those are the days I curse Sony for deciding to go their own way, that they couldn’t use a regular USB cable as their transfer cable, they needed their own proprietary, hard to find cable. I mean, I’m sure the transfer rate is better, but is that what the customer really wants? (Betamax sound familiar anyone? Didn’t think so)

I think not. I’d prefer to be able to pick up any old cable and start transferring my pics. I’d prefer not to have to tear my house apart looking at the ends of every stupid USB cable we have to see if I’ve found the right one. I’d really like to not have to play ‘where’s mommy’s cable’ with V.

These might also be the days that it occurs to me that I have a card reader downstairs and I should go use that.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 10:57 pm

    You should check to see if the Eye-fi Card is compatible with your camera. Automatic (wireless) downloads/uploads of pictures to the computer and to an online site has saved me!

    • neeroc permalink*
      July 8, 2010 11:32 pm

      Good news, bad news in that department. Turns out my a100 aggressively turns off power to the CF slot, but there are other Sony models that don’t, so chalk one up in the ‘upgrade’ column.

  2. July 14, 2010 5:43 pm

    I bought a Flip not too long ago, and now firmly believe that all digital cameras should just come installed with a USB port. So. Much. Easier.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

