Skip to content

Morning silence.

July 15, 2010

Since the start of July hubby has been starting work at 7am. From March until the end of June he was working the evening shift. Before that he was working insanely early, and before you say it, even the morning people I know thought it was insanely early. What’s the point? The point is that all of those shifts mean that I am the one that takes V in to school in the morning. The daycare doesn’t open until 7 so the timing didn’t work any other way. My morning routine, since last September has always involved V.

This morning though, as her daddy headed to the door, V piped up with a, ‘Daddy drive me.’ Not a demand as much as a statement of fact from a growing vocabulary. Much scrambling ensued and off they went. Hubby will be a bit late, but his little button asked so how could he say no?

I sat in the window, as I do every morning, and waved as the car drove off. This time there was no little blonde head beside me, curls bobbing as she waved her little arm off. This time the little arm was waving from the car.

The silent morning now stretches before me. There will be no parade while she ‘plays’ the recorder and stomps around in her squeaky shoes. There will be no ‘why?, but why?’ heard, no requests to read a story, no firetrucks zooming and crashing, no hide and seek.

What do I do? Delicious calm. Wonderful time. What do I do?

Pet the dogs, feed them, chase them a bit…

Bathe, read, have another coffee…

Read some blogs, do a bit of writing, play a game…

Pick up toys, put in another load of laundry, wash the dishes…

Feel guilty.

No comments yet

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

