Skip to content

Mom’s vacation

August 3, 2010

Yep, you got it, I took an extra week. I guess, technically it was a mom’s staycation. Hubby was back at work, V was back to nursery and I was on the couch eating bon bons all day. I started out with a list of 25 things I was hoping to get done, but really, who was I kidding? My list should have been:

  • nap
  • read blogs
  • sort through pictures and edit when needed
  • eat
  • mess around on Twitter
  • get a pedicure (this one was on the other one too)
  • chop off your hair
  • bathe
  • play games
  • nap
  • read
  • shop

Then I would have had a fighting chance of completing the list. So what else did I do? Much to my husband’s annoyance, I puttered. I didn’t have any grand plans for every day, I just did what I felt like, when I felt like it.

Did I feel guilty about dropping V off at school every day? Nope. After working for the past 19 months it’s clear I’m out of practice on how to entertain a child for 15 hours straight, every day, all day. I am a much happier mama for not having to answer ‘why’ 954 times an hour. All. Day. Long. She’s a much happier child to have her friends and teachers to head off to every morning, rather than having to deal with me slumped over my coffee for the first 3 hours of every day.

Did I remodel my entire home, come up with new colour schemes and design the addition we’ve been toying with? You’ve got to be kidding me. But, I did manage to declutter, and obtain a library card, and in doing so I found out they have a used book store which is always looking for books (see note above about decluttering).

Did I lose any weight and start exercising? No, but I ate better, thanks to the bounty of summer veggies and had my annual physical. Am I worried that I have to go in to see get the results of my bloodwork? Slightly, but if I hum loud enough I stop thinking about it for a while.

I also drew up one kick ass honey-do list.

Work resumes tomorrow. My lists still loom. I hear a more productive vacation calling my name.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 12:04 pm

    ..”I just did what I felt like, when I felt like it.”

    That’s how you should spend your free time! Everyone needs time to decompress, even moms! 🙂

  2. August 7, 2010 7:36 pm

    This. sounds.like.bliss.

    I would also make a very ambitious list and promptly burn it.

    • neeroc permalink*
      August 10, 2010 10:40 am

      Oh, I like the burning idea! I’ll have to remember that for next time.

  3. August 7, 2010 9:04 pm

    You time is so important. Glad to hear you took it!

    • neeroc permalink*
      August 10, 2010 10:42 am

      I was really glad too, I think I’ll try to make it an annual thing *g*

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

