Skip to content

Just throw them in the freezer

August 8, 2010

Today I came across a couple of bananas that were a bit past their prime. (No, I didn’t find them out on the street, they were actually in my very own kitchen. I try not to make it a habit of picking up weird, past their prime fruit). As I usually do, I decided that I’d use them to make banana bread.  However, I decided to break with the tradition of throwing them in the freezer and forgetting about them until they were dehydrated black popsicles. I was actually going to make banana bread.

I mean, I was already making a disaster of the kitchen cooking up a couple of batches of watermelon jelly, what was a bit of flour added to the sticky, sugary mess right?

While V and I were liberally dripping watermelon juice about the kitchen, hubby was off on a tidying tear on the rest of the house. This lung infection thing has him, if not cleaning with abandon, then obsessing about what slobs we are *sigh*. As tornado hubby tore through the house with a vacuum, he passed the same fruit basket I had and grabbed the old fruit to compost it.  I brandished my food processor bowl (is it a bowl? container isn’t really accurate and neither is cup…I’ll stick with bowl) and demanded he step away from the fruits as I intended to use them.  He then attempted to make his way to the freezer and throw them in (how well does he know me?). When he heard that I meant to make it today, he just shook his head and dropped them on the table. I’m going with that rather than him being scared off by the crazy woman covered in watermelon juice and seeds holding a really sharp knife.

Jelly got made, child was entertained, other shiny things went by and I forgot the bananas. Dinner rolls around and there they are staring at me, their blackening skins accusing me. I had to restrain myself from mashing them right there just to eat my dinner in peace.

Okay, that was a bit of a lie, I didn’t make it right then and there, because I didn’t have a recipe. Yep, there’s the dirty little secret of my black banana hoarding. I don’t think I’ve ever managed to turn those over-ripe banana into anything useful. I mean, it just seemed the thing to do. Bananas over-ripe? Pop’em in the freezer, you’ll be able to make banana loaf at your leisure! Sure got that part of the message, how about the treasured family recipes? Not so much.

Well hello Google! And hello gooey banana and chocolate goodness:


(Knife in picture may or may not have been brandished)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 10:35 am

    I don’t know why chocolate in the banana bread never occurred to me. It sounds yummy!

    • neeroc permalink*
      August 10, 2010 10:44 am

      Oh it is! Chocolate always occurs to me 🙂

  2. August 11, 2010 10:10 am

    How was the watermellon jelly? I’ve never heard of, much less, tried that.
    Also, have you ever used Food.com? It used to be recipezaar. TONS of recipes that are easy to sort by rating, relevency, etc. I use it all the time, especially now that my iPad fits on my cookbook holder thing.

    • neeroc permalink*
      August 11, 2010 11:01 am

      I haven’t tried it since it set. I’m thinking it’s more of a bagel and creamcheese type topping. I’m also a bit worried that I used liquid pectin instead of powder, and I’ve heard it has a ‘chemical’ taste. I may whip up another batch to taste test *g*.

      Thanks for the pointer to food.com, Google usually throws me at about.com so it’s nice to have another go-to.

  3. August 12, 2010 11:10 am

    I would be lost without Google to find recipes. It would mean that I would actually have to pull out any one of my 20 cookbooks. 🙂

    • neeroc permalink*
      August 12, 2010 9:06 pm

      I know! The manual labour, indexes and page turning, book propping (not to mention dusting-off). Now I just need a better way to organize my recipe bookmarks..

  4. August 12, 2010 1:13 pm

    Yum! I too, do not have a banana bread recipe 😉

  5. August 18, 2010 10:20 am

    I can’t believe that you didn’t share this with me.

    • neeroc permalink*
      August 18, 2010 10:51 am

      Bwahahaha, mine! all mine! (well except the bits that went to V and hubby)

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

