Skip to content

If it wasn’t so funny…

August 27, 2010

Ya, so. I really shouldn’t blog when I’m stoned. If I happened to leave a ‘bzah?’ comment on your post, Sorry! Oh wait, here’s the background.

Yesterday’s crazy didn’t resolve itself magically overnight so I was in a bit of a quandry this morning. When I’m in a bit of a quandry I prefer to sleep on it. The 7am deadline didn’t leave much time for that. Second go to solution? Coffeee! Oh wait.

Quick dive through the tub, then woke up the smidgen (out of our bed but that’s a separate post), got some food into her, me dressed, hubby dressed, her dressed and deposited her at daycare at 6:59. (I would hate to live any sort of distance from things, I’m barely on time as it is.)

Presented my self to admissions, and surprise, surprise, they’d never heard of me. They checked with emerg. They checked with day surgery (which happens to be closed), they checked with *muffle, muffle crazy lady just showed up*. Finally the OR paged my doctor, who apparently was all,  ‘oh ya, didn’t I mention her?’ and I was allowed to pass go. Admitted, and directed to day surgery (see note above).

Get there, push open door to lounge and the freaking lights are off, with a note that they’re closed until Sept.2. I did a quick count on my fingers and realized that was after 9:30 this morning.  Luckily one of the women from admitting thought this might happen and chased me down as I wandered the halls aimlessly.

They get me to the right pre-op, which is actually a re-purposed post-op, and guess what? They’d never heard of me either. Super fantastic nurses, and they felt so bad, but scrambled and joked and were all super awesome (and that’s not the drugs talking. Much.) As an aside, I totally want to find a painless, non-invasive reason to have to be in the hospital like every week, just so they can throw 10 or 20 of those heated blankets on me! Dr. came in we chuckled a bit, I got a bit verklempt and may have scared him a bit. Next up was the OR nurse I was going to see, and she too was wonderful. Oh! But as she passed my bed she gave me a little reassuring gesture, and it totally would have been sweet, if she wasn’t grabbing the toe! Both times she passed by.

After 2 hours of no activity, things took off like a shot! Poked, probed, wheeled to OR, more poking and measuring. Sensors applied, blood pressure cuff, then that arm strapped to table. O2 sensor clipped, IV started (in my hand, man I hate it in my hand, there’s a beautiful site right on top of my forearm that they always ignore!) Next arm strapped down. Again I may have spouted a leak. The anesthesiologist gave me something to calm down then said something might burn, now take a deep breath on the oxygen mask…

Aaaand then I was in recovery. Never have I been so happy to see 4 arrowroot cookies! And gingerale!

I don’t know who it is that’s pulling all the strings to get the extra ORs open, but my team included the head of obstetrics, the head anesthesiologist, and the head OR nurse…at least they knew about me!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 10:16 pm

    i’m so sorry you had to go in for this today, but i am glad, for your sake, that it is over. recover soon, and be pampered, ok? thinking of you tonight.

    • neeroc permalink*
      August 28, 2010 8:47 pm

      Thank you. Flowers and much napping were the order of the day.

  2. August 28, 2010 8:40 pm

    Hope you’re still slightly buzzed and on the road to recovery. (And really happy things went well.)

    • neeroc permalink*
      August 28, 2010 8:47 pm

      Heh, the buzz is off but I had a very leisurely day. Thanks

  3. August 29, 2013 1:32 pm

    Aren’t those heated blankets awesome?

Trackbacks

  1. Three years | One day this blog will have a snazzy name

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

