Skip to content

Tomatogeddon

September 19, 2010

Do you know how much a bushel of tomatoes is? Do you have any freaking idea? No? Neither did I.

DSC02947-2

Sounded good at the time, I mean I guess I should have been concerned that I couldn’t really lift the box once I paid for it at the farmers market.

DSC02936-2

Dude helping me to my car chuckled a bit when I asked if he had any pickling cucumbers. Guess he realized I really was a crazy lady and knew there was no chance I’d be able to get to pickling today too.  The saucing was slightly delayed by things like lunch, dinner and the Richmond Fair (post to come) so the fun stuff really only got started around 6.

(I’m fairly confident in giving this advice: if you’re ever caught red-handed (haha) at a bloody murder scene, just tell them you were canning tomatoes, they won’t be able to tell the difference right away, giving you time to escape.)

Hubby seemed very enthusiastic for about the first 1000 tomatoes. Once he figured out he couldn’t build a better mousetrap, he decided to go get a life. Lucky for me V will never pass up the chance to help. She is doubly willing to help if it involves appliances. My bright red food processor has a special place in her heart, but tonight she had to settle for using the mill on the stand mixer while standing in the sink.  But this would only amuse her for so long, then it was just me, my tears adding saltiness to the sauce (okay, ew, no) for the next 5 hours.

DSC03077-2

If this has taught me anything, it’s that just because some person I follow on Twitter has gone ahead and started looking for processed sugar in everything doesn’t mean I should. I mean, I was perfectly happy to occasionally buy a Mason jar full of processed spaghetti sauce, throw in a few chopped veggies and call it my own a day. Who would put sugar in spaghetti sauce? And why would I go reading my food labels? (No really, don’t go looking for trouble. If you haven’t paid that close attention, don’t start now).

Oh, no wait. What it really taught me is that I need a stock pot. I only have a dutch oven, so have been using a sauce pan to supplement. I did manage to get 9 quarts (or larger what’s with the random sizing Mason makers?) done tonight, and thanks to my sister’s emergency stock pot run, tomorrow’s finale should be a one shot deal.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 7:21 am

    LOL I’m inspired. Have been looking at salt content. I think I’ll be done for if I start looking at sugar…

    • neeroc permalink*
      September 20, 2010 10:54 pm

      I was disgusted when I started looking for it. I mean, I expect my honey mustard to have honey, but there were 2!! types of sugar before the honey.

  2. Kim Moir permalink
    September 20, 2010 8:36 am

    Hmmm…this seems familiar 🙂

    My hubby bought 80lbs (two bushels) of tomatoes at the farmers market a few weeks ago. He made 20 jars of salsa and 20 jars of pasta sauce and then froze the rest of the tomatoes. Costco has a fine selection of giant stock pots. I’m glad he likes canning, because 80lbs is way over my tomato tolerance 🙂

    • neeroc permalink*
      September 20, 2010 10:53 pm

      Wow, now that’s ambition. Did he know what he was getting himself into? And better yet, does he work for hire?

  3. September 22, 2010 1:57 pm

    I loved your pictures on this post. And tomatoes are my fave! Especially the organic ones.

    • neeroc permalink*
      September 24, 2010 1:31 am

      Thank you. Hmm, I wonder if I could convince my chemical-free farming cousin to plant some romas for me next year…now you’ve got me thinking!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Tomatogeddon « One day this blog will have a snazzy name -- Topsy.com

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

