Skip to content

This much organization goes against my nature

September 21, 2010

I need to stop and think before I go off on any more half-cocked schemes. Last weekend was tomatopalooza, this weekend I’m consigning a bunch of stuff. I’ve never consigned before, and this is a one day only mega deal, not a drop it off at that shop and they do the work for you thing. I’ve shopped this sale before and it’s very well organized.

When I say very well organized, I mean VERY well organized. Like obsessively. All items must be freshly laundered. All items must face left on your hangers. Hangers must be metal. Each item is entered into inventory separately and you print off barcodes for them. These barcodes then need to be attached to the clothes. Clothes need to be grouped together by size (with hangers facing the same way). Items must be in season. Clothes are dropped off at assigned times. If you volunteer two shifts at the sale you get better commission (75%!)…This is turning into a full-time job.

Let’s start at the beginning, LAUNDRY. There is much itty bitty folding and sorting and pressing and inspecting (did I mention they inspect every item?). I’m not good with laundry at the best of times, that’s what laundry baskets are for. Now I have deadlines. And pressure to clean. I mean, sure I’d put my kid in a onesie with a spaghetti stain, but holy hell, I’m not going to be the one that has the lights and sirens go off when they try to sneak a stained garment in to the sale.

Next we have the pinning. My safety pin operating thumb is broken. The dent in it makes the tip look like a little bum. And this is just to get the clothes on to the hangers. Then I double check to make sure the stuff I’m preparing actually belongs to me, and isn’t something borrowed. Then I have to figure out pricing, we (and by ‘we’ I mean I) still have to itemize each item, print off labels and guess what? Safety pin the suckers on. That garment tagger may not have been such a silly idea after all. Or this entire thing is…

Sort, organize, bin, label bin, and hunt for more stuff to sell. I’m really working on getting V to give up some of her bazillion toys – we have 2 playhouses IN the house people. There’s another one outside, and we’ve given at least one kitchen away. She’s not completely sold on the idea of giving stuff up to get new stuff, for instance she was hoping to buy another ride -on car with the profits from the sale of her beloved car, but I’m still working on her. In between loads of laundry.

Thursday I volunteer at a drop off. Friday I drop my stuff off and get in to the pre-pre-sale. Saturday I shop, then volunteer, then shop some more. There are times to keep here people, wish me luck!

Edit: The sale is OutGrow OutPlay, at the Ben Franklin Superdome this Saturday – http://ottawa.outgrowoutplay.com/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 9:06 am

    Where is the sale? My girl needs pants!!

    • neeroc permalink*
      September 22, 2010 9:10 am

      See, there goes that organization thing again. I post then go, ‘hmm, maybe I should tell people about the sale’. You’re too quick!

      It’s the OutGrow OutPlay this Saturday at the dome on the corner of Hunt Club and Greenbank. http://ottawa.outgrowoutplay.com/

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

