Skip to content

You guys.

September 24, 2010

Wow, talk about an exhausting day. I’m sure I mentioned before that personal organization and high levels of scheduled-ness aren’t generally qualities I’d claim as my own (I know it’s weird, I’m a PM, but I guess I get enough of it at work?). So it should come as no surprise to you to learn that I was up until all hours this morning getting ready for the consignment sale tonight. I won’t say what ‘all hours’ actually is, but let’s just say that I had to wonder if I’d feel worse after a short cat nap or whether I should just stay up until morning (sleep so totally won).

But, got my crap really good stuff washed and inspected and labelled and hung and grouped by sizes and…

Then I dropped them off this evening and did my first volunteer session (second one is tomorrow). Lovely thing about volunteering to inspect the stuff as it’s coming in is that you’re inspecting the stuff as it’s coming in. I saw the gear, I saw the low priced stuff, I was able to see where it was placed on the floor (no I wasn’t hiding stuff, I doubt you could anyways, there are tonnes of volunteers there always checking the placement.)

The nice thing about volunteering for 2 shifts (other than the extra 10% commission) is that you get first crack at the sale. So at 6:20 tonight we were cleared off the floor and at 6:30 they released the hounds let us in.

Over the past 3 weeks or so (and I wasn’t even thinking about getting them at this sale – don’t believe me? See note above about my level of organization) hubby and I have talked about how it would be nice to have various things – a PlasmaCar, a Sit’n’Spin and a 3 wheeled scooter (wheels at the back).

Well dude. Plasmacar – $24. Scooter $3.00. Sit’n’spin $3.00 (I suspect because it was Diego rather than Dora but hell $3.00!) And the selection! There are yards and yards of anything you could think of. Including boy clothes! Usually it’s a pink extravaganza, but the selection for boys is pretty awesome. This is such a well organized sale. There are separate areas for outdoor toys, furniture, clothing is on huge racks (think Winners or Value Village for scale). Books, puzzles, girls toys, boys toys, decor…and it’s all thoroughly inspected. And it doesn’t matter if the consignor said they priced it to sell because of a stain or tear, they won’t take it so you can shop with relative confidence.

Some of the stuff  I had my eye on I’ve left there on the gamble that it’ll be there later tomorrow aft, after my second shift. The sale is tomorrow, details can be found here – http://ottawa.outgrowoutplay.com/.  Admission is a donation to the food bank or $2.00. If you do decide to head out (and you’d be crazy not to) I will warn you it’s HOT in the dome. Like teeshirt and shorts hot. And if you’re looking for the best deal, any items tagged ‘markdown’ by the consignor will drop to 1/2 price at 2pm.

Now if you’ll excuse me I have to go soak my feet and pass out.

(I wasn’t asked in any way to make this post, I do have items consigned in the sale, but there are thousands and thousands of items, it’s not like I’m expecting you to buy my stuff, the sale just kicks butt!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2010 10:32 pm

    Dammit! boy clothes? I *knew* I should have given a list! glad you found some deals.

    • neeroc permalink*
      September 27, 2010 10:51 pm

      Oh ya. She is *set* and I got some Christmas shopping done.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

