Skip to content

Time to shift my gift

October 13, 2010

I’ve done enough talking about it, it’s time to get moving. It was easy enough to delay while temperatures were still stinking hot, I was sorting out medical issues, then I had that little audit thing to worry about, but I’ve run out of excuses…I’m starting the Couch to 10K. Tomorrow. With hubby. V will be tagging along in a stroller.

Today I downloaded the app then took a few huge breaths. Some might call it hyperventilating, I prefer cleansing. On the surface it seems like a reasonable proposition. Take 13 weeks, run 3x during each of those weeks, and at the end you’ll be able to run for an entire freaking 10k without stopping.

My downfall was looking through the individual days’ exercises.  Sure it seems reasonable (really? Did I just write that?) to start off at 30 sec running and 4:30 walking for an hour, but holy crap! Run 50 min and walk for 1? That be scary. 50 freaking minutes of exercise, and not just any exercise, running.! Oh, there I go with the breathing again.

Note to self: Get new inhaler.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 12:08 pm

    That’s awesome!! I’m in week 7 of couch 25k. Didn’t know there was a 10K! Guess that’s next on my agenda…

    • neeroc permalink*
      October 13, 2010 1:50 pm

      I’m not quite clear on what my thought process was for going straight to the 10k, something along the lines of, ‘well I used to run 5k’s’, conveniently forgetting that that was 5 years ago.

    • neeroc permalink*
      October 13, 2010 1:51 pm

      And congrats on W7! Now you’ve already run a couple of races/events haven’t you?

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

