Skip to content

Confession

October 15, 2010

I have a new addiction. Any of you on my Flickr stream may have noticed, I’m addicted to iPhone photography (iPhotography? iPhonetography?) Now, I’m not claiming to be good at it, or frankly even proud of it, and I’m certainly not creating art, but I cannot stop. I chalk this up to the genius of the iPhone. Again.

While I’d love to have my DSLR with me all the time, the truth is I don’t. And I often feel self conscious hauling it out to snap pics, like some sort of poser. I can’t explain it, that’s just what it is. But I always have my iPhone with me. I know, hard to believe. The woman who lost her previous cell phone for 3 months is never separated from this oh-so-much-more-than-just-a-phone phone. And snapping off a few shots with your cameraphone? Why everyone does that!

It started innocently enough, with a cute pic here and there:
IMG_0023

Then I realized I could capture where a crazy man backed up a tree and tweet about it:
Crazyman drove up the tree

Not surprisingly, many of my pics were of my daughter, and sometimes my dogs:
V walking her puppies

But sometimes not:
Cotton candy sky

Sometimes I regretted ‘only’ having my iPhone. I mean, what was the point of borrowing Stella’s f/1.4 lens if I was going to forget the camera at home? Instead, this is the only ‘decent’ shot of the evening:
Lumiere1

But then it happened. I found Hipstamatic. Or maybe it found me. Either way easy! fun! cool! retro! pics started rolling off the camera:

Fall flowers

And now? Now I have tilt-shift-gen, camerabag, lo-mob… and these:
Lock

New dress

Monster

And it seems there’s no end in sight. But wait! Best of all:
mini

I want everything to look miniature. I searched though years of photos yesterday to find ones that I could upload through my phone just to process them like this. Yes, that’s right, I’m going to take pics from my DSLR, upload them to my phone and use it to process them. I might even scan in some of my old film pics, but I didn’t just say that.

I also went back to my real office for the first time in two months, and I was pre-occupied with pics from the moment  I stepped in the door (note: not into or through):

Shattered

And still I crave that minuture look:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/neeroc/5085358136/in/set-72157625156352008/

Actually, what I really want is to be able to grab some pics on my DSLR and figure out how to do this manually, without having all the filters applied for me. I’m craving some time to mess with saturation and brightness and graduated blur.
I’ll admit it, it feels like cheating. I can, but don’t have to, think about to achieve any of these effects. Heck for some of the apps I can shake my phone to have the filters applied! I need more than that. I need it to either be great off the camera, or require *some* level of input:
IMG_0715-1

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 16, 2010 8:41 pm

    Just today I was telling someone how sad it was that I had mostly captured my baby’s first 9 months on my iphone, but now I don’t feel so bad. Those look awesome. I think I need that app!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

