Skip to content

My weekend, the meal edition

November 15, 2010

We started off with a Friday nooner, hubby and I. You see we’d both forgotten our lunches and decided to sneak off to the local fast food joint. So while there might not have been so much in the classic ‘nooner’ sense, it was illicit in our plan for eating better and getting fit. But yummy, filling and most importantly for a nooner, fast.

Friday night we have a standing date with a friend of his, once a month or so we head over to Lone Star and load up on fajitas. Good, filling and stinky. Doesn’t get much better than that. AND I get to eat shrimp. Hubby’s not a big seafood fan, as a matter of fact I think he’d rather be poked in the eye,  so anyone want to share a shrimp platter? Give me a call.

Bright and early Saturday V and I headed to the Canadian Museum of Nature with Willy, Stella, Woo and Goose, as well as Deb and her daughter V. After 3 great hours there we had a boatload of hungry peeps, and after a quick consult with Urbanspoon, we headed off to The Works in Westboro. Before I get to the eatin’ part of this paragraph I’d like to point out that Urbanspoon needs to hook up with Google traffic view, because they need another spinner there for ‘OMG you want to go to the Westboro traffic disaster on a Saturday at noon?!?’ Well, maybe that’s a bit long, but SO WAS OUR DRIVE THERE. But it gets better – try to find parking with Churchill basically closed. Good times.

Anyway, I lied a bit before because here’s a new paragraph talking about lunch, which was awesome as usual. There really isn’t too much that could possibly go wrong with a hamburger the size of your head. Unless you inhale a bit of it and start choking on it like I did. Yep, the full on tears down the face, can’t catch your breath, burp insanely loudly kind of choking. But back to the food – I got my personal favorite, the Roughrider Return, best burger that doesn’t contain stinky cheese imho. I did go a bit crazy on the shake (oh ya, you didn’t think I’d pass that up did ya?) and got a mint chocolate one instead of whatever boring one I usually get. Oh and to keep things healthy I selected the sweet potato fries instead of onion rings. Even after that hubby was disappointed to hear I didn’t order a starter tower of rings. I always knew he was plotting my demise, I just figured it would be more of a pillow smothering than hoping I eat until I explode.

Sunday we met up for breakfast with Bub and ‘Cole at Fil’s Diner and all I can ask is why haven’t I heard of this place before? It’s attached to the bowling alley in Westboro – did you know there was one of those there? No? Me either. Anyway. Gorged myself on french toast. With sausage AND bacon – total win! And they are crazy prompt with the coffee refills, I think I must have downed about 7 cups during our visit.

How considerate are they? Serving breakfast until 3 so I can sleep in. Will they send someone over to play with V for those 9 hours too?
Fil's

And if I haven’t now stored up enough calories to last the rest of my life, I’m at least good for a winter’s hibernation.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 5:44 pm

    Of course, all Hintonburgers know about Fil’s and the bowling alley. Not to be picky, it’s not in Westboro –depending who you ask Westboro ends at Island Park or Tweedsmuir, in the middle is Wellington West.) Hintonbur starts at Holland.

    Sounds like a wonderful time!

    • neeroc permalink*
      November 16, 2010 10:02 pm

      Can’t believe I did that! Must be the ‘West’ in the bowling alley name. Ya, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

  2. November 16, 2010 8:21 pm

    So forgive me for focussing on this entirely inconsequential detail, but Urban Spoon? Had never heard of it before now. Just installed it. Now there’s a find! Thanks!!

    • neeroc permalink*
      November 16, 2010 10:35 pm

      Haha – I go off tangent all the time! Gload to help spread the app love.

  3. November 16, 2010 11:47 pm

    And now I am hungry. Ha ha.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention My weekend, the meal edition « One day this blog will have a snazzy name -- Topsy.com

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

