Skip to content

My Santa Claus parade will kick your parade’s ass

November 21, 2010

Last night we took V to see her first Santa Claus parade, the Help Santa Toy Parade. I’d call this the main Ottawa parade, I remember going to it when I was a kid (so you know it’s been going on forever), it winds it’s way from the War Museum to City Hall downtown, and had quite a few local news/political/sports type people in it.

We arrived at about 5:15 as we were at the far end near city hall. I figured it would be a  balancing act between arriving too early and freezing and arriving too late  and not being able to see anything. The parade was supposed to start at 5, but I hear it didn’t get underway until 5:15 or so, so that bit of planning was for naught.

Two firefighters on mini-bikes, well adorned with Christmas lights, kept the crowds entertained with wheelies and trick riding while we waited for the big event. At six on the nose the first of the marchers started by. As luck would have it, this was just after the street preacher, conveniently set up behind us, finished up his sermon by telling us that we were all going to burn in hell. Oh ya, we can pick our spots.

V *loved* watching everyone go by, shouting and waving from the top of her dad’s shoulders. She’d spot all the Christmas trees and penguins and would call out to all the mascots as they drove by. And drive by they did, for almost 45 minutes we were entertained by a trucks and trailers and firetrucks, emergency vehicles, inflatable airplanes, mascots and dancing troupes.

Then the parade turned it up a notch. Enough with the elves and the fluffy white snow, send in the race car, zipping down the street! This is my sort of parade, loud cars, big engines, speed and gasoline fumes. Ah.

And then came Frosty the Stormtrooper and Darths Maul and Vader. No really. Because when I think of Christmas I think of a double ended light-saber and a stormtrooper outfitted with Christmas lights. Actually, now that I think about it I might re-jig my decorating scheme… I’m very disappointed that my camera finally succumbed to the cold and by the time they marched by it was no longer focusing properly so while I did snap off a couple of quick pics, I really wasn’t able to capture their true spirit of awesome.

The Emperor was obviously not pleased with us at that point, as some unknown problem caused the parade came to a grinding halt shortly after. And then we waited, and waited and waited…and the float in front of us played the same song over and over – fine if they’re crawling by, slightly annoying if they’re stopped in front of you for 15 min.

Finally we caved and admitted that none of us could feel our feet anymore, so we turned and started up Elgin in case the big guy was stalled just around the corner. Unfortunately we did not manage to spot him, but I think we did find the coldest and windiest place in Canada last night! Good thing Santa’s making a few more appearances around the Valley, I’m sure we’ll catch him one of these weekends.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chantal permalink
    November 21, 2010 10:34 pm

    We had fun at the Cornwall parade last night. My 5yo announced that he wants to be in the parade next year. I bet he would rock as Darth Santa 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention My Santa Claus parade will kick your parade’s ass « One day this blog will have a snazzy name -- Topsy.com

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

