Skip to content

Sens win again…

December 4, 2010

(As I write this the Sens are in a shootout and the score is 0-0 but they’ve won in my daughter’s heart (again.))

Thursday night I received an email from the Coordinator, Fan and Community Development for the Sens offering us 2 free tickets as members of the Sparty’s Kids Club.

Yep you heard that, 2 free tickets, as long as I replied that I wanted them and gave my name for picking them up at the gate. Let’s just say I sent a ‘hells yeah’ faster than blinking.

(Sens just lost in the shootout – sigh)

I didn’t hear back today so got a bit panicky and sent off another email. I wasn’t sure if I should have gotten a confirmation, and didn’t want to just show up with V all excited and in tow only to be disappointed. And we all know my recent track record with scheduling things. At 5:15 Sparty himself confirmed that our tickets were waiting for us for the 7pm game so we hustled to finish dinner, threw on our jerseys and were out the door.

V was sooo excited, she chanted ‘go Sens go’ all the way to the game, then ran down the tunnel to the entrance. Once inside she was awed by the gigantic Christmas trees in the lobby and loved checking out the ticket wicket. They seemed pretty charmed by her too, she came away with easily 10 tattoos (I’m sure I’ll be finding them everywhere). Our tickets we decent seats in the 300s, not at nosebleed height. Before we could hit the seats though V spied the Sparty bobblehead and had to stop so she could hold his hand.

We arrived at our seats just as Lyndon Slewidge started singing the national anthems, which was a new experience for V. Did I mention this was her first hockey game? We’d intended on taking V to an afternoon game, but really, who could pass this up?  She’s still so tiny that when she sits on the arena chairs they fold up on her, so we tucked our coats behind her to bump her closer to the edge of the seat. Somehow she managed to worm her way onto my lap within 5 minutes of being there and there she sat for the rest of our visit.

She loved it. I tried to get a picture of her smiling at the game, but I just kept getting her serious face because she was totally engrossed in the game, watching them skate back and forth, following from end to end. She did eventually catch on to the chanting and clapping and she was even up and dancing at one point.

At the end of the first period she turned to me and said, ‘I want to go home’ just as calmly as you’d please. I double and triple confirmed, but seeing as she didn’t have a nap today and it was already after 8, things could have gone a lot worse and I didn’t want to push my luck. Icing on the cake moment came as we were ready to head down the stairs and outside, we noticed a lineup to say hi to Sparty and immediately she beelined for him muttering about wanting to give him a hug. I finally corralled her to the back of the line and was so impressed that her limited attention span wasn’t exhausted while waiting for him. Of course the thought of hugging Sparty is much different from the reality of a 3′ toddler being confronted by a 6′ lion, but she did manage to stand shyly in front of him and get his autograph.

I couldn’t pass up the chance to get some shopping done in the Sens store without all the crowds, so we stopped in for a few minutes. V had to greet the two bobbleheads (Alfie and Sparty) then we got down to the swag shopping. She picked up the one thing, a flag, that hubby thought we might want to find. I also grabbed a new jersey for her. The one she was wearing was one I’d picked up at a charity auction and it’s probably the last time she’ll be able to wear it. If I’m honest about it, I was a bit surprised I didn’t have to cut it off her tonight. She was slightly sausage-like in it. The new jersey is a 4-7 so I’m hoping she’ll get a couple of years out of it – I’m cheap, sue me.

The entire ride home she was telling me about how she wanted to tell her dad about the evening and when we finally arrived she burst through the door yelling ‘Go Sens go!’ and collapsed into bed shortly there after.

Now let’s recap: so far we’ve gone to the Sens Fanfest, where we dished out $20 and signed up for the club. That got her a teeshirt, cup, metal lunchbox and lanyard. We were then invited to Sparty’s birthday at Saunder’s farm, a fun day in the mazes and pumpkin patch. And now 2 tickets to an NHL game gratis. I’ll have to say that that is the best $20 I’ve ever spent.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2010 2:01 pm

    What an amazing experience! I’ve wanted to take Joel to a game, but it’s risky especially with the cost of tickets! I know there’s a family day once a year where you can take the kids for cheap (or free??) Have you ever taken V to a 67s game?

  2. December 5, 2010 10:06 pm

    So fun for you guys! I am sorry we missed you. Maybe we can try to go together to another game this winter, or to a 67’s game!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Sens win again… « One day this blog will have a snazzy name -- Topsy.com

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

