Skip to content

Um, about that party.

December 10, 2010

I while ago I asked here and on twitter what I should do about planning V’s birthday party. And the overwhelming response was that I should hold the party outside of the home. Not so much to get into the oneupmanship-party track, but for reasons more like ‘OMG kids hopped up on sugar’ and ‘oy, the mess’.

So I’m happy to announce that on Sunday we’ll be hosting V’s party at home.

I know. I never claimed I was smart.

Further proof of this was my belief that V’s list of invitees would naturally get pared down due to the party’s proximity to Christmas. I mean, how many people could possibly be available for a birthday party 13 days before Christmas? Things looked ‘good’ balance-wise in the beginning, the first parent I spoke to, a mom of twins, indicated that they probably wouldn’t make it. Next, we got a couple of ‘yeses’ and then we totally ditched her BFF’s party. But hubby made a special visit to deliver BFF’s gift and last I heard they were talking again and mom of twins juggled her calendar and now I’ve lost count, but I think we’re at a whole lotta kids.

And, my finishing touch of brilliance? I forgot that each of those children will be multiplied by at least one, if not both parents. Parents are optional but it looks like they’re all coming. Also? Parents here from 4-6:30 means I need to have a second set of party food for the adults. So really, kinda like another party going on at the same time.

But wait! I did listen when you recommended having the family party on the same day. Not the same time, but the same day. My poor daughter hasn’t yet had a taste of birthday cake (yes she’s had birthday cupcakes at school, and timbits with hubby’s family and a visit from her gram, but dammit no cake!) So I at least get a 1/2 point for denying my child cake.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a party or three to plan and prepare for.

*I’m totally excited about this. I love entertaining, kids and pandemonium and I want V to have a blast!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 12:25 pm

    Yesterday we went to a joint party for my friend’s kids – both born in December. She had rented a community centre, and when we arrived for the party, no one had shown up to unlock the doors. We waited half an hour in the freezing rain before she moved the party back to her house. And you know what? It was great. There was plenty of room for the kids to run around downstairs. She set up cookie decorating in the kitchen, and the adults mingled about and chatted. There’s somethign to be said about having parties at home!

    I also love entertaining, but I’ve found since having kids we just don’t entertain as often as we used to.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Um, about that party. « One day this blog will have a snazzy name -- Topsy.com

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

