Skip to content

Hoist by my own petard

January 4, 2011

After hibernating for the past week and a half (where hibernating means not doing any shopping) I decided to head to the mall with V. The siren song of post-post-Boxing Day sales was just too loud to ignore. Getting off to a late start meant that I didn’t have a lot of time before V would need lunch and nap. Truth be told I was looking forward to both too. Since this was a special girls’ day out I decided that we’d do sushi for lunch. Not full-on restaurant sushi but boxed to go.

After a whirlwind trip through Gymbo where V was a complete angel (they ain’t no dummies playing Yo Gabba Gabba!) we headed to the food court, where of course they were out of sushi. Because, yanno, people don’t want to consume food at lunch. Backup plan, we’d head home and pick up some supermarket sushi on the way. Cheaper, and a better alternative because then a crowd wouldn’t gather to watch the spectacle of me inhaling pounds of the stuff, accompanied by V polishing off a box or two on her own (did I mention we like sushi?).

V was full of beans, and without thinking, as I placed her in her car seat I set my petard. All it took was seven simple words, ‘Leave your boots on or no sushi’.

Never let it be said that my girl doesn’t rise to a challenge.

I buckled her in, we giggled and kissed, I turned to collapse her stroller, and blammo! a boot rolled out the open door and lay in a puddle like a grenade. I turned back and she was laughing like a mad woman and kicking in her seat, naked feet flailing. Two words undid all this joy, and started the waterworks. Two words sent us straight home, sent me scrambling for lunch ideas and decided what we’d be having for dinner tonight instead. Two words taught me that I need to think it through before setting up consequences.

‘No sushi’

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 3:18 pm

    You have to be very careful what you threaten. 😉 I’ve fallen into that trap as well. I once told my 6th grade class that if they misbehaved for the sub I would cancel their spring party. Of course, they did, and then I had to cancel the party. One has to follow through, you know. But I can tell you that I was more punished than they were, by having to come up with lessons for 35 very sullen twelve year olds.

    • neeroc permalink*
      January 4, 2011 11:30 pm

      Oh, ouch! That does not sound like fun at all!

  2. January 4, 2011 11:36 pm

    No sushi????!!!

    • neeroc permalink*
      January 4, 2011 11:56 pm

      I couldn’t hold out long, we had it for dinner tonight.

  3. January 6, 2011 3:56 pm

    Next time go with “no sushi for you”. Then you still get ot eat it. 🙂
    (And I just happen to be making the kids sushi for dinner tonight)

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

