Skip to content

I may have been on vacation too long

January 4, 2011

Today was my last day of vacation. Is it possible to forget how to work? I woke up this morning and thought, ‘well if you want to get everything done today you’d better get your arse in gear’ (procrastinators creed) and then promptly bribed V to sleep/snuggle for another hour. This was followed by some lazing about, a leisurely breakfast and an hour-long soak in the tub, one which V felt the need to interrupt just to give me a kiss, melting my heart in the process, and then I was ready to tackle the day…at 11:30.

I did then get my act slightly together and made dinner. I love my crock pot. And retail therapy. I might not have gotten the single serve icecream maker (thanks a lot @missfish!) but I did pick up some smoking deals at Gymbo, as well as Gymbucks, handy for a return visit next week. Sorry, I might second think totally frivolous purchases, and still be in need of winter boots for myself, but I’m never going to deny my child clothes. Why no, those couldn’t possibly be her overflowing closets and dressers. Quit looking behind the curtain!

Is it wrong to want to take a few days now that V is back to nursery and hubby’s at work in order to get the house and our affairs in order? I’m only afraid that a few days will turn into forever. Then wouldn’t that be a different set of affairs to get in order?

Tomorrow is going to be a hell of a shock to my system. Unless I win the lottery. There must be  a last ditch lottery right? I’m not looking for much, say 10 mil to tide me over. Drawn tonight and payable by Friday. Where do I sign up?

What? Are you sure there’s no lottery about to pop out of the ether and hand me a drive by winning? It sure beats the other crazy ideas I had in my head. The ones where I was out the door by 6:45 so that I could be home by 4. This is all sorts of crazy ideas, not the least of which is that it would mean all 3 of us are competing to get out the door at the same time. With one bathroom. And I’d be walking the dog at 4:45. And I’m not ready for single parenthood, which is what that scenario would lead to. I’m not saying how, but I’d be single. And possibly in jail.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 9:37 am

    I get sucked into spending way too much at Gymboree, too. The clothes are just so cute. I think most of us need a last ditch lottery in January. We’re all broke because we blew it all in December. Then come tax returns, thank goodness.

    • neeroc permalink*
      January 4, 2011 3:02 pm

      I’m a total discount rack scavenger there. Cute and well made! But ya, still waiting for my winnings to start rolling in.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

