Skip to content

Go ahead, call me a loser

January 8, 2011

Not just any type of loser, but a habitual loser. For the past 5 years I’ve signed up for ‘The Biggest Loser’ at my work. In 3 of those years I’ve ended up pregnant, and in 2008 I’d given birth the month before. So ya, not much success so far. But even more than that I’ve realized that my starting weight has been slowly creeping up the scale.

Not counting my 2007 pregnancy, I’m now at the heaviest I’ve ever been, and I’m 35lbs heavier than my comfortable weight. Then there’s the little issue of my LDL cholesterol creeping into the ‘worry zone’. I think I’ve ignored that issue long enough. So, no surprise, I’ve signed up again. I don’t have a plan for the next 16 weeks, but between the weight, the lack of energy, my depression and my general slug-like behaviour, I have to do something.

I’ll start by letting you all know I weighed in (at work) on Friday at 159.8lbs Which was exactly what my home scale told me earlier that morning. I’d threatened the work scale before I got on, but I’m sure it wasn’t lying. (maybe I should start reporting this is kilograms instead. 72.6kg just sounds lighter.)

I then proceeded to chase that good news down with 3 pastries, an Oh Henry and a bottle of Coke. Not the greatest start to my weight-loss journey, but I’d forgotten my lunch and I think I was still better off than if I’d gone to McDonald’s.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2011 10:58 pm

    I did The Biggest Loser at my work a few years back, and wondered why I wasn’t losing any weight at all. Then I found out I was pregnant, and that pretty much put a stop to that. So I know how you feel.

    My solution is bringing a TON of healthy foods that I love to work with me, so there’s no excuse to eat crap. I mean that I bring so many healthy snacks that I couldn’t possibly eat them. It’s nice, when I have a craving, to know that I could have a whole wheat english muffin with peanut butter, greek yogurt with blueberries, wheat thins with a bit of gouda cheese, or sliced cucumbers with goat cheese. Sometimes food gets wasted, but it’s easier to turn down crap.

    Good luck and don’t be too hard on yourself. An O Henry bar has got to have some protein in it, so it wasn’t all bad. πŸ˜‰

  2. January 9, 2011 9:53 am

    How does that work? Sounds interesting!

    It’s HARD to get into the right mental space for weight loss – trust me, I know πŸ˜› So good for you, and good luck, and… let`s cheer each other on! πŸ™‚

  3. January 9, 2011 10:16 am

    It’s not always about weight loss, it’s about maintaining a somewhat healthy living style. This style will cascade to your children, which is more important than the benefits it will bring you. Exercise is as good for the mind as it is the body. I bike all the time because it helps keep me somewhat sane. Don’t set your goals at losing all the weight by the end of the competition. Set your goals as, “what can I do this week to improve my eating/exercising that won’t disrupt life overall”? You like to take photos, grab some snowshoes or tall boots and head into the woods with your camera.

    • neeroc permalink*
      January 10, 2011 4:25 pm

      Great advice Ken, thanks!

  4. January 9, 2011 11:03 pm

    Wanna start playing hockey again?! πŸ™‚ Or squash? (tho I get a mask if we do that!)

    • neeroc permalink*
      January 10, 2011 4:24 pm

      Thanks bis. I don’t think I have time for those types of things, esp ones that are strictly scheduled. And with V up from 6:30am to 8pm I need some down time…still trying to figure out how I’m going to sort this out.

  5. January 10, 2011 11:54 am

    thanks for delurking the other day. i really should do the same here. but with the google reader i tend to leave so few comments now. bad smother!

    i’m curious how this contest works at work. and even more curious to know what the prize is! good luck!

  6. January 10, 2011 11:56 am

    Thanks for delurking on my blog! — Yes, I have seen you posting at Mrs. Spit’s. Didn’t realize you were also a Canuck. I have added you to my blog reader. : )

    • neeroc permalink*
      January 10, 2011 4:26 pm

      Hi! (and I’ll apologize in advance *g*)

  7. January 10, 2011 11:59 am

    Oh, & trying to lose weight sucks (almost as much as ttc while infertile). I lost 35+lbs with Weight Watchers when I turned 30. Kept it off for several years, then about 15 lbs crept on. Then I got pregnant, added another 20 or so. Lost the baby but not the weight, & I was right back where I started & then some. I’ve been back to WW, tried to do better at walking (especially in good weather), but overall, am down less than 10 lbs from my very heaviest. I don’t think my eating habits are horrible, but they probably could be better, & I do need to cut back on sugar. And exercise more.

    Somehow, it was easier to lose when I was 30 than doing the same things at 50. :p Good luck!!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

