Skip to content

For the love of reading…or maybe it’s just the pretty pictures

January 16, 2011

“Mommy, is the lie-berry open today?”

And with that I think we are about to become best friends with the library. Last week we took V for the first time, and while we should have checked to see if our branch was still undergoing renovations in the children’s section, her eyes still lit up  at the selection of children’s books they’d tucked away in a small room on the main floor. I grabbed the book I went in for, then watched in amusement as she found the biggest (by cover area) book she could get her arms around. It was bright, it was colourful and it was appropriate. It made for great bedtime reading all week, and it also gave us a chance to chat up the  library. It appears I wasn’t perfectly clear on all the workings of the library before we went and there was a bit of confusion about the length of time the books would be staying with us. (Forever vs. 3 weeks) Since I’d read the book to her every night I decided a one week visit was enough. It’s a good thing she’s grasped the idea of sharing ‘her’ items with other people or we could have had one heck of a fight!

After verifying the children’s section was open, we headed out and like last week, we headed to the adult fiction section so I could grab my book first. The difference this time was V knew she was headed to a room full of books of her own and she dragged me up and down the aisles, hurrying me along. As soon as we hit the basement doors she marched over to the pre-reader/first readers section, right up to a bookshelf and grabbed a book. She then noticed the child-sized furniture. A comfy couch, and a round table with ‘school’ chairs were available. She quickly plopped down on the couch and flipped through the first book and we had our next lesson, how to return a book to the shelf properly (aka mommy will do that).

The shelf next to us was full of French books so I grabbed a couple for her. She spent easily half an hour reading and perusing and I had to convince her it would be a good idea to head home for dinner (quite frankly I was a bit sick of returning all the books to the shelves). Then, just to top it off, the icing on the cake as it were, just as we were leaving she spotted a Dora book! So, today little miss left with 3 library books, all of which have been read, and she can’t wait to go back to find more.

PS – did you know books aren’t the only thing you can borrow from the library? They also loan out movies, CDs, pedometers, Kill-A-Watts, museum passes, and cross-country ski passes. As well, our branch has a 2nd hand book store and the books that I used to freecycle now go there. My next project is to investigate the learning and discovery programs they are offering.

PPS – can anyone recommend good intro to French books for V? She’s three and has had barely an introduction.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 12:27 pm

    As a librarian by training, I must tell you that I positively love this post.

    • neeroc permalink*
      January 18, 2011 4:26 pm

      I’m an avid reader, and I hope of any of the traits or loves I’ve passed on, this is one.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention For the love of reading…or maybe it’s just the pretty pictures « One day this blog will have a snazzy name -- Topsy.com

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

