Skip to content

Date night!

January 29, 2011

When was the last time hubby and I went out on a date?

Now there’s a good question. I remember just before we left for Jamaica last year hubby and I went to dinner and a hockey game for my birthday, and while in Jamaica we had dinner alone for my birthday, but I honestly cannot remember another evening we’ve spent out in the past year. (It may have happened, I have a terrible memory). So when my brother and SIL offered to take V for the evening, we LEPT at the chance.

The plan evolved from us going to dinner and a movie, then picking V up to V having her FIRST! SLEEPOVER! EVER! (I’ll admit, I had a moment of panic, what with hell freezing over and all – were we about to be blamed for some natural disaster somewhere? I mean, this was earth shattering.) We talked this one up and V was excited. Then she came home from school Friday afternoon complaining of a tummy ache. We knew she was nervous and had been feeling a bit under the weather, but we soldiered on knowing she always has a hoot with Uncle Bub and Auntie Cole.

V was dropped off and we headed to Hy’s Steakhouse, which has been on my 101 list forever.  I was not disappointed. I ordered the tossed green with bluecheese dressing and the 8oz Gorgonzola filet mignon. Hubby started with the warm spinach salad (which will be my selection the next time we go back. Bacon. Need I say more?) and the prime rib. I can’t rave enough, it was delicious, and although prime rib is one of my favorites, I preferred the filet. For dessert (Biggest Loser be damned!) I had the creme brule (which came with a birthday candle, that sneaky hubby of mine!) and he had the pecan pie.

Our plan was to hit the movies after dinner, but I’d checked all the listings earlier in the day and nothing really caught our fancy. So we headed home, curled up on the couch and watched Tropic Thunder from my zip.ca deliveries. The movie was so fun and so very, very wrong. I giggled the entire way through.

Movie over, we decided to check in on the little miss. Sadly she’d woken up around 11:30 with her coughing and was crying for mommy. So we headed down to pick her up. Once home she decided that it was playtime, so we spent a moment wrangling her, then decided she’d most likely fall asleep in our bed. Just before drifting off she put an arm on each of us and said, ‘I love you guys’  – cracked us up.

I’ll have to say my brother made the right call though, she was up from about 2:30 on until about 6, coughing and hacking. That would not have been a fun night for any of them.

And the way I look at it, we still got a date night, and didn’t destroy the world.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2011 8:23 am

    Sounds like it was a lovely evening! Hubby and I have been trying to get a ‘date night’ for months but something always comes up. I am envious… yet glad… that another mom and dad get one! Kudos to you! (Oh to have reliable family in the same city!) I’m sorry V is under the weather though. Hope it doesn’t last too long!

    • neeroc permalink*
      January 30, 2011 9:14 pm

      I have got to figure out how to do this better. V still hasn’t been left with anyone that isn’t family…not sure I’m ready for that yet.
      Maybe we all need a support group, then again, who’d show?

  2. January 30, 2011 9:41 am

    i think our next date night will be in august when we go to chicago for my 40th. and our last one was last summer. man, we need to find a babysitter!

    • neeroc permalink*
      January 30, 2011 9:20 pm

      I hear ya…I’m not sure I’m ready for it, but I hear ya.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Date night! « One day this blog will have a snazzy name -- Topsy.com

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

