Skip to content

Twitchy trigger finger

February 1, 2011

Today’s lunch hour finds me at my desk, browsing discount! leave tomorrow! no questions asked! vacations, a mere mouseclick away from booking a week in the sun. How you ask, did I find myself in this state? To the casual observer it might look like this is a spur of the moment decision. But I have proof it isn’t. Two solid days were spent pondering this. What? Yes, yesterday was a work day, it was also minus a kazillion out. Weather always trumps work.

During the course of my mega-sucktastic sort-through-papers Sunday, I managed to locate, (and safely relocate) our passports. Did you know that a 2-year old’s passport is only good for 3 years? That means we have two years left to use that puppy up! Flipping through the pages, I noticed that one little Jamaican stamp seemed pretty darn lonely (I also didn’t realize we were cleared to stay for 3 months – I’ll have to pay closer attention next time). I figure that stamp needs company, and we should try to get one stamp a year for her.

Then came Monday. Weather aside, it was also the day that one of my siblings returned from Turks and Caicos and another departed for Jamaica. Add to this my coworker’s countdown to Friday (when he departs for Jamaica) and I started rethinking this, ‘oh we’ll stay home this winter’ decision. Seriously, who makes that decision? The only decision I see now is – do I book a ticket for hubby or not?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 12:52 pm

    oh i would be so jealous. 😉 how i wish to go somewhere and squish my toes in teh sand with the jellybean! well, i guess the hubby too, but considering he’s a teacher, that doesn’t seem likely.

    • neeroc permalink*
      February 2, 2011 2:32 pm

      I think the moment has passed. I’m now considering heading outside to make snow angels *g*

  2. February 1, 2011 8:10 pm

    Do it! you know you wanna! Make DH come too!!

    • neeroc permalink*
      February 2, 2011 2:31 pm

      I apparently missed my opportunity to flee.

  3. February 1, 2011 8:18 pm

    I make that decision to stay in Ottawa all winter, every winter – except for the one time I spent Christmas with my family in Florida.

    Book it. You won’t be sorry.

    • neeroc permalink*
      February 2, 2011 2:36 pm

      Oh ya, you’re extra crazy *g*.
      I just so crave that extra little bit of sun…I think I was born in the wrong part of the continent.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

