Skip to content

Not sleet nor snow…

February 2, 2011

I’ve often found that my mail isn’t delivered when we have a severe case of the Fridays, so I didn’t have high hopes for today. But colour me impressed. Not only did a well-bundled letter carrier make it to my door today, I also received a separate CP package delivery (sorry about the 3′ mound at the bottom of the driveway, if hubby doesn’t make it home with gas for the snowblower, I’ll see ya in the spring).

I know right? Mail. phfft. What could be so exciting about that? Let me show you:


No. Please don’t get distracted by all the dog hair and ‘a 3 year old uses my phone’ goo.

Glider Gloves! What the hell are they you ask? They’re gloves that’ll allow you to use your touch screen devices and not freeze your digits off! Yes, this post deserves as many exclamation points as I can throw at it! This was an issue when hubby and I started the (now defunct effort) c210k. After several failed nose navigations I gave up on trying to use my phone with gloves.  But it irked me every damn morning and evening when I walked my dog – yes, that’s a perfect time to tweet and read mail. It’s not like I have to pay attention to the mutt or the sidewalk the entire time! (although the plow did sort of create it’s own road today and I ended up walking up a neighbour’s snowbank, so maybe a bit more attention is needed on my part)

First observations –

  • The need more sizes. I have larger hands for a woman, with long fingers. I got the M/L and they are snug. I seriously doubt these would fit hubby (and will be testing that theory if the traffic snarl ever allows him home).
  • They are very light but claim to be good to -15C. This might not seem like a lot, but really anything past that and I’m not sure I’d want to be dawdling around playing with my iPhone. And I’d either be at a bus stop (pockets) or running (OMG hot) so heat wouldn’t  be an issue for me. My 20 minute dog walk at -9C proved that they would be good for a quick check in on the device, but not great for reading from the phone for the entire 20min (yes I did this – brr). BUT, once home I shovelled for about 10 minutes and my hands were fine, so I’m assuming they would be great at this temperature any time you’re exercising.
  • They only come in that colour, which is perfectly fine with me, I’m certainly no fashion plate when out at 6am, and they kinda match my silver ski hat anyways.
  • They work! Even with it still snowing on the screen I had no problems navigating between apps and within messages. I did not try to tweet or otherwise type, but was able to zoom in and out, scroll and tap no problems. Even snapped a few shots of the silly dog.

(In related news, hubby may have created a monster. These were a featured item on one of those deal-of-the-day websites a couple of weeks ago. A website that I hadn’t yet found. It has since been added to my vast collection*g*)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 7:43 pm

    AWESOME!!! Two things, what is that deal of the day website?! and I think that my hands are smaller than yours, so I could, you know – take them off your hands! 🙂

    • neeroc permalink*
      February 3, 2011 12:35 am

      teambuy.ca and hubby tried them on and they fit him snuggly (I didn’t think they had that much stretch), so looks like we’ll be fighting over them.

  2. February 3, 2011 1:56 pm

    No. Way. That rocks! I had no idea such things existed. Perfect for mid-ski iPhone pics.

Trackbacks

  1. When deals go bad « One day this blog will have a snazzy name

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

