Skip to content

Tidy up Tuesday – Crafting Corner

February 8, 2011


(I’m sure anyone who knows me, or has ever set foot in my house is rolling, if not on the ground, then their eyes at the thought of me doing a Tidy Up Tuesday post)

Just in case you’re not convinced: Several weeks ago Sara encouraged us to post our own Tidy up Tuesday posts and link them through her blog. I was stoked and even knew what I could contribute to the next linkup. I took the pics I needed, started to compose my post, and then realized I had no idea where my transfer cable was for the camera. I spent the next two days looking for it, laughing all the while, as my ‘tidy up’ post was stymied by my disorganization. So I missed the deadline, tucked it away, and you get it this week instead.

Still not convinced? I ask my daughter to clean up her room and this is what I got:
DSC08218
Yes, I’d rather be reading than cleaning too…

One of V’s other passions is crafting (again she takes after her mama), but unfortunately I’ve been at it slightly longer than she has and am currently occupying all our free rooms with my crap crafts. This may change as I stash bust, but for now, poor V’s left to express her creativity in the dining room and even I can see there are several issues with that. Problem one was solved by my sister who gave V a huge vinyl/boat upholstery cover for the table. Problem two, being storage, was around for quite a while longer. She had a rubbermaid bin in her bedroom, but I found this both dangerous (I dreaded the day she opened it when I wasn’t around) and less than convenient for those spur of the moment crafting sessions. Yes we’re in a bungalow, and yes our house is small, but I buried that sucker in order to avoid attracting V’s attention.

Then a local hardware store had a clear out sale and I picked up one of those 3 drawer wheeled cabinets for under $10, and our problems are solved:

DSC08222

It tucks away neatly (for the most part) in the corner of the dining room, and if we’re doing a full-on, house must sparkle blitz, it’s got WHEELS.

But wait, it gets better, I even sorted the items that go in each drawer. Top one is for stickers, bits and bobs, tape and scissors:
DSC08225

Next we have the messy stuff: pens, crayons, pencils, bingo dabbers:
DSC08224

And finally, paper:
DSC08226

There are a couple of larger items, a crayon desk and a playdoh set, that don’t fit in it, but they sit nicely on top, and the cart helps to prop up her crafting books. Might not be for everyone, but it’s better than the dining room looking like Michael’s threw up in it.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 1:48 pm

    Pretty blog! I had to comment because I just spent an hour looking for my son’s Roman History book and what I found under the boy’s bed was disgraceful. Mostly books, so I suppose it could have been candy wrappers…but my goodness! Hats off to you for getting organized. I think I’d rather pay someone lol.

    • neeroc permalink*
      February 8, 2011 2:30 pm

      Hi, thanks for commenting. I *dream* of being able to pay someone…but until that comes I’m just trying to keep us off ‘hoarders’

  2. February 8, 2011 3:54 pm

    Hooray!!! It looks awesome πŸ™‚ Can I just say we have the same ‘messy’ products and construction paper and we’re also coming to your house very soon because my ds2 is OBSESSED (it warrants caps) with Dora and it looks like you have an extensive Dora sticker collection. That’s a pretty great start to Tidy-Up Tuesday I’d say. Notice how I only post pictures of the post I’m working on and not my entire house…there’s a reason for that πŸ˜‰

    • neeroc permalink*
      February 9, 2011 10:56 am

      That would be awesome! Just let me do a bit of tidying first (seriously TRU exploded in my living room. I don’t know how it happened)

  3. Anita permalink
    February 8, 2011 6:54 pm

    We did this when Sean was little … that art caddy has been in his room, in the kitchen and now in the basement. It hasn’t solved our tidy-up issues but it’s definitely great to roll out the art caddy when we need it and not have to look for the crafts all over the place. I now need to invest in a much larger bookshelf and convince the child to throw out perhaps a picture or possibly that toy he hasn’t played with since he was 4!

    • neeroc permalink*
      February 9, 2011 10:56 am

      You mean you aren’t supposed to just get rid of them when they’re not looking? oops.

  4. February 8, 2011 7:33 pm

    Love the rolly-drawers idea. We have one in the (off-limits) sewing room, but it would be perfect for keeping S’s craft stuff where we use it (in the dining room) and then hiding it away as needed.

    Sara’s got a great thing started, eh? I’ve got a few posts lined up too. Methinks a twitter hashtag is also in order.

    • neeroc permalink*
      February 9, 2011 10:57 am

      Oh, good idea. I seem to only come up with inappropriate ones tho so I’ll leave that to someone more skilled *g*

  5. February 8, 2011 10:59 pm

    Nice job. Much neater than my crafting space…My kitchen table is a Michaels and Joanne’s all ‘thrown up’ into one mess.

    • neeroc permalink*
      February 9, 2011 10:58 am

      Oh, it’s the only tidy thing around here and I love that description of your space, sounds like my room (which I’m way too chicken to post pictures of)

  6. February 14, 2011 1:19 am

    We bought a book called does this clutter make my butt look fat (or something like that πŸ™‚ and it’s all about why we might be compulsively messy and cluttery. We’ve lost it at least 3 times in the clutter and have yet to read it. Just saying πŸ™‚

    We have craft drawers in our dining room too. My eternal problem is just leaving everything on the dining room table since we never eat in there anyways. oy!

    Great post!

    • neeroc permalink*
      February 14, 2011 11:09 am

      LOL that is fantastic, I’m glad I’m not alone. Now I have to go looking for that book, for it’s title alone.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

