Skip to content

Six years.

February 25, 2011

In my continuing trend of being a dollar short when it comes to remembering anniversaries and notable dates, Feb. 21 marks the first day I posted something online in journal format way back in 2005.

Guess what you get when you introduce a person not used to writing their thoughts down (thanks Mom*) with a journaling site – a quiz meme. Yes, my first post was ‘what Harry Potter house do you belong too’ or something equally deep. Turns out that year I also discovered I was Julius Caesar, 70% masculine, an honorary Brit and about 45 other meaningless bits of info. Great reading that is! Perusing the old posts, I have to say that many of my public posts are often embarrassingly content-free.  I wasn’t out to provide intertainment (yes, that’s what I said) and it’s really surprising I have any followers at all.

I remember my initial reaction when my coworker introduced me to online journaling, sort of a ‘bzah? why? Only weirdos do that!’ and it was probably 3 days later that I’d signed myself up. Checking out my posts from that first year has been fun. I’m shocked at the number of things that I thought happened more recently than 2005! Where did the time go?

The first year online I lent my motorcycle to a coworker who then turned around and killed it. I found out who the Wiggles were, my sister got married, I saw U2, Cher, Blueman Group and Velvet Revolver. We widened the driveway, put in a new flower garden and replaced all our windows. Thrilling reading, all of it. I was in school, and we attempted both an FET and another round of IVF. And the journalling year ended with me finding out I was pregnant for the first time.

Much of my early writing is private, or shared on locked groups. I was desperately looking for others on the IF journey. That site allowed me to connect with wonderful, supportive women on the same path. It makes me sad to realize that many of the groups where we connected have disappeared, often taking the heartbreak and triumphs with them. Luckily I still talk with many of my earliest friends and still follow their lives and families.

Here are a few pics from that year:
(taken by my coworker Brad, he has many amusing photos from that 1 hour)

My hair turned to this:

And at some point it was like this:

I may have to go back and read more of those posts. I’d totally forgotten that gas was $1.70/l in September, and I forgot that our walls used to be that colour *g*. Good thing I’ve been recording all these tidbits!

*I was actually actively discouraged from writing. Her motto is ‘never write down what you don’t want others to read’. Add that to a healthy dose of ‘if it’s in my house I have a right to see it’ and well, needless to say I committed nothing to paper.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 10:29 pm

    I don’t read back into my blog often enough, and I also feel like I don’t put enough of the little details into my blog now and will miss having them later.

    Happy anniversary, it was fun hearing about how you started 🙂 And does your sister paint her entire face often? 🙂

  2. February 26, 2011 10:47 pm

    I can’t believe that stuff all happened six years ago (except my marriage, I remember that). I love that you blog, love that you share. Happy Anniversary!!!

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 1, 2011 10:24 pm

      It’s crazy how so much of that feels like yesterday. I’m glad I blog too, I have all these memories captured. (and available as proof if required)

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

