Skip to content

To the Oscar hate-tweeters

February 28, 2011

The only thing I can say about following the Oscar chatter on Twitter last night is it was very apparent kindness week was over. I avoided Twitter most of the evening, 1 – because I couldn’t figure out how to filter out the hash tags on tweetdeck on my iPad (yes it will probably be mentioned in every post from now until the end of time. Or this blog whichever happens first.) and 2 – the cattiness was both overwhelming and nothing that I wanted to read. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying you had to love the show, or that every time you tweeted the sun had to shine out of your ass, what I am saying is that I tuned in to both the show and ‘the twitter’ late in the evening and if I met most of those tweeters today I’d have a hard time looking them in the eye. That was one big-ass, stewing pot of negativity. Here was my reaction last night:

I know the internet can be a piranha pool. I like to avoid the drama and the bitch-fests when I can, and I think I form and express my own informed opinions online. I like the idea of the internet being a supportive place and I try to surround myself with funny, smart, opinionated and kind people.  I read many blogs where the women (for the most part) talk about the importance of accepting one’s self, kindness, promoting a healthy body image. Mental health issues, bullying and peer pressure have been hot topics lately.

Stark contrast to last night’s twitter feed, full of, ‘ewww, fugly’, ‘man I hate her with the heat of a thousand burning suns’, ‘big mistake’, ‘look at her hair/clothes/weight/tan/whatever!’ and of course, not to leave the guys out, ‘boooorrring!’ and ‘was he stoned?’ and ‘does he have a pulse?’. It was like reading the biggest, bitchiest clique I have ever seen.

Did you forget they are people too? Did you think twitter was your basement, only between friends and no one else could see you? Did you notice they were live tweeting and would see every word you wrote? Was it a display of hipness to be the best trash talker? Did you simply forget that age-old rule about what you say when you’ve got nothing nice lined up? Would you have enjoyed being the subject of those tweets? I often see groups of people quick to champion anti-bullying, kindness, love yourself causes on Twitter, sadly you also seemed quite at home on the other side of the fence.

I’m not saying you had to love every minute. I’m not saying you couldn’t express your dislike/displeasure, but if you can fit criticism in 140 characters you could probably fit constructive criticism in the same. Tweeting about an Academy decision is very different than criticizing someone’s boobs. And ya, sometimes it would probably have been better for you just to shut up, you and the other 18,000 with the same hateful message. Taking the idea of a blog as a livingroom a bit further, Twitter is like talking in a crowded hall. If you wouldn’t say it to their face don’t tweet it to them.

It may have been boring, marks may not have been hit, it might not have been your cup of tea. So turn the channel.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 1:41 pm

    hear hear!

  2. February 28, 2011 1:51 pm

    I stayed off twitter and kept the tv off last night. good grief is all I have to say.

  3. February 28, 2011 3:47 pm

    Usually Twitter makes me wish I was watching the award show that everyone else is watching. Last night I was too busy watching Mad Men. Sounds like I didn’t miss a thing.

  4. February 28, 2011 6:35 pm

    I second that hear hear. I read a book.

  5. February 28, 2011 8:38 pm

    Well, guess I’ll stop writing this post I was working on…lol

    You already wrote everything I would want to say!

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 1, 2011 10:27 pm

      Noo! Blog it too, there were enough of ‘them’ there should be more of ‘us’!

  6. March 1, 2011 9:51 pm

    I agree, it was pretty unpleasant – and I had filtered out a bunch with tweetdeck. Well said!

  7. March 7, 2011 9:39 pm

    I remember that tweet, and at least some of the vitriol that preceeded it. You have an excellent point about bullying and being kind – shame that that message is only hip in the right context.

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 9, 2011 12:06 am

      Thanks. It was really disappointing to see the same people forget that message so quickly.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

