Skip to content

Well that’s one way to deal with clutter.

March 22, 2011

This afternoon, after 4pm, we’ll find out if our hopefully-only-almost-unending quest for a house is finally over. I went back through my old blog’s posts because I couldn’t believe it, but we started looking at houses (quasi-seriously) in October of ’09. No look at that again – oh-freaking-nine! Our only condition is the inspection, so fingers crossed.

Now here’s the sticky bit – our current house is bursting at the seams. No really, BURSTING. Not only do I have that serial crafter thing going on, but we’ve got the ‘I’m not ready to not have any more babies’ thing, and a dog. And a 3-year old. And some extra furniture that I like but don’t have a place for (yet). V has two play houses in our house. Our living room rug is those square puzzle matt things. It hurts my head to think about the amount of heavy equipment that it would take to get this house presentable (oh that reminds me – If you were really looking for the opportunity to store [NOT USE] 20 or 50 rubbermaid tubs of my wool and fabric stash speak up, the line forms to the left, the interview process will be painless.)

But.

All of this clutter will rattle around in the new house. Seriously. My crowded kitchen counters will be clear. My dining room chairs will all fit around the table. We’ll be missing couches in either the family room or the living room (since we only have a living room now). I will have the craft room I want. Hubby will have a shop. And two car garage. That table I’m hanging on to? It’ll have a place. That sewing machine that my mother is so desperate to get rid of? I already know where it will live. Birds will sing, we will dance. Maybe, instead of a rec room, we’ll have a pool table. We will twirl, the dog will tiptoe across the foyer, I may just have lost control of this post. So ya, 4pm – eep.

(The next house post will hopefully be brought to you by lists. All the lists in my head. And a bit of panic)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennerknit permalink
    March 22, 2011 7:45 am

    Woo hoo!! What are your dates?

  2. March 22, 2011 8:09 am

    When we sold our house we filled a cube van and moved it out to be stored elsewhere. Then, when we were actually having people in the house our van would get stuffed with stuff so we could leave it in pristine condition 😉

    The huge house we got? Super cluttered anyways despite all the more space. LE SIGH!

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 24, 2011 12:14 pm

      We’ll have to rent storage for sure. I like the minivan extra storage idea too *g*. If we do manage to fill this new place, I pity V when she has to move us out! 🙂

  3. March 22, 2011 9:02 am

    Keeping fingers crossed that all goes well. Funnily enough, we always seem to expand our stuff to fit the space we’re in don’t we? I have a feeling that when you move to a new place, it’ll accommodate the items you want in there, but you’ll find a way to make space for more! 🙂 Either way, keep us posted okay? Love and hugs to you and your family hon!

  4. March 22, 2011 9:40 am

    SO HAPPY for you guys. I can’t wait to see the new place!! I can’t imagine how excited you are. I am happy to help in anyway too.

    You’ll fill it in no time. Remember how empty our house was when we moved in? It’s bursting!

  5. DesertDiva permalink
    March 22, 2011 12:50 pm

    Boy do I relate to THAT, in every single sense! Boxes boxes and more boxes of fabric, paper, adhesives, thread … you know the list. Here’s to hoping your dream comes true this afternoon – I for one am certain it will 🙂 But note, it will take months to get organized enough to finally craft something again – took me 4 months, but I”m finally back in action again. Can’t wait to hear the good news!!!

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 24, 2011 12:15 pm

      It did, it did! Am now in full panic mode *g*

  6. March 22, 2011 4:49 pm

    Woo hoo!! Awesome news. That’s a Tidy-Up Tuesday project in the making 😉

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 24, 2011 12:15 pm

      Oh I have lots to TT now! It might be entire weeks and months worth of tidy-ups

  7. March 24, 2011 9:38 am

    LOL! Ok, we must have been separated at birth. Serial crafter? Check. Clinging to baby stuff? Puzzle mat rug? Tubs of yarn? Check check check. All I need is a dancing dog 😉

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 24, 2011 12:16 pm

      Everyone needs a dancing dog!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

