Skip to content

We’ve really done it this time

March 25, 2011

As of today the final condition has been waived/lifted/cleared on the house that we’re just starting to realize we’ve actually BOUGHT! On May 31st we’ll officially become Stittsvillians, and the (temporary) owners of two homes. Okay, who am I kidding, the bank is going to own one of them, but we’ll be the family that lost their minds anyways.

Next up – declutter, spruce, sell!  Oh and lists. Lots and lots of lists. The little organizer who lives in my head is losing her mind, and I’d like to apologize in advance for any Google Docs outages, I’m sure the sheer volume will overwhelm their system.

In the spirit of lists, but ignoring the ones dealing with real-estate, legal, financial or logistical issues I give you –

What I’ll miss about our house:
The neighbourhood. Quiet, close to everything, nice neighbours, mature trees, good sized lots
My gardens. I’ve worked for years on these. I’ve roped hubby in to working on them. I’m seriously considering taking cuttings with me.
Our oak tree. No really, it’s much older than our house, and it’s magnificent:
treehugger1
treehugger2
I can guarantee hubby will not miss the leaves. From this or the other 10 trees on our lot.
V’s daycare. It is an amazing place, she’s been there since hubby went back to work and all of her BFFs go there. This one is going to be hard. (The thought of finding someone else to care for her gives me panic attacks, I prefer the fingers in ears, ‘la-la-la’ method for now)

What I’m looking forward to:
All that space. There will be storage for items we currently trip over. There will be an end to rooms jammed with stuff. We’ll be able to use all our furniture and may even have to buy more.
Ensuite bath. Sure it might seem decadent, and maybe it is a bit, but the thought of hubby being able to get ready at the buttcrack of dawn without waking V up – worth twice what we paid. And it has a whirlpool tub – whee!
Friends nearby. 3 of my 6 knitwit buddies live in Stittsville, and we’ll be one street away from JennerKnit. This has me seriously giddy.
The neighbourhood. Quiet street, lovely walking paths, a park around the corner, and all the stuff I don’t know about!
Being so close to: My favorite spa, Jo-Jo’s pizza (they were located near our house when I was under 10, then I discovered them again as a teenager ‘hanging out’ – life long love), and the Stittsville Meat Market & Deli. I’m sure there’s more to discover, I remember a bakery too… 😉

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Lulu the yarn pimp permalink
    March 25, 2011 4:07 pm

    Welcome to the neighbourhood! You’ll love it. It will be great to have you so close, maybe we’ll actually get to see you…
    Lulu x

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 27, 2011 8:57 pm

      EEEEEE! Nearer the shop and you too!

  2. March 25, 2011 11:19 pm

    Woot!! And take those tree cuttings. Seriously. I’m still regretting not getting cuttings from the forsythia outside my window before my Dad sold, and failed again with the lilacs in our first house in Fitzroy. Still thinking about sneaking back for the lilacs, under cover of darkness. sadly, the forsythia is gone.

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 27, 2011 8:57 pm

      So…when I read about a lilac thief I know nothing right?

  3. March 26, 2011 12:47 pm

    Fantastic hon! I’m so happy for you. I know you were hoping that something would come through and I know you’ve been sorta looking around for awhile now. Congrats on the deal going through! And while the actual move is never fun, enjoying the new house will be! Much love to you and yours.

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 27, 2011 8:58 pm

      Thanks Gil, holy, I started packing up the extras today…oy.

  4. March 27, 2011 1:02 am

    Definitely take cuttings. I moved into my house from an apartment and we have no plants. Still. Four years later. Besides, they are yours until you close. 🙂

    I’m so happy for you!

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 27, 2011 8:58 pm

      Thanks Karen, got your DM too, just lost my phone for most of today…luckily I didn’t pack it.

  5. March 27, 2011 7:19 pm

    Congratulations! : )

  6. March 28, 2011 8:53 pm

    Congratulations, it sounds like a lovely home. Some days I would sell up our semi-urban home to have an en-suite in a flash. Enjoy.

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 29, 2011 8:48 pm

      Thanks! I am sooo excited about the ensuite. You may not hear from me for a week or so. *g*

  7. March 29, 2011 9:59 am

    I feel all your joy/pain/excitement/anxiety! We are moving too, out of town. We leave Ottawa in July, but have to sell our home in the next couple of weeks. Aaaaahhh! The cleaning and packing to show the house, getting the kids out to do the showings! Aaaaahhhh! I wish you luck, and hope to find some myself.

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 29, 2011 9:02 pm

      OMG next couple of weeks? eep good luck and great selling!

      I am totally befuddled as to how to stop the daily bombshell that detonates in my home.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

