Skip to content

Saps

March 28, 2011

Did you know Ottawa is home to an urban sugarbush? And that it’s been around since 1938? I didn’t. A couple of weeks ago I Googled ‘Ottawa festivals’ to see what might be interesting for V this year. I was thinking Tulipfest, Shakespeare in the Park, Ribfest, the hot air balloon festival…never did I imagine Maple Sugar Fest, but it was quickly added to the calendar, and here’s the crucial part – I actually remembered week and day of!

Saturday morning we hit the road bright and early (for us), picked up grandma headed over to the wilds of Vanier to check it out. V was immediately attracted to the bouncy castles but we managed to tempt her away and over to the sugarshack. On the way we checked the buckets, but it was way too cold for the sap to be running. There were a couple of overflowing buckets though, they must have been left there to prove the trees really ‘worked’.

Just outside the sugar shack we found the good stuff – maple taffy, but you can’t just walk up to the snow table and grab a stick, oh no you need to dance, to buy a ticket inside before you could get your candy. Not to worry, I’d line up for hours to get me some maple taffy! Funny how it turns out I actually bought V a stick of maple taffy, I could have sworn it was for me. We bought a couple of candies and some maple butter too, but as the syrup was from somewhere in Quebec I’m still on the lookout for about a gallon.

V was enamored with the horse-drawn carriage and ‘needed’ to go for a ride. I knew it was serious when she waited in line for about 7 minutes without a peep. I prefer to admire horses from a distance, but I get the feeling that won’t be an option when little miss is around. She loves them and couldn’t keep her eyes off them for the entire ride.

Next up we headed in to the Richelieu community centre where they had a display of Canadian animals (who knew ermines were so small?), face painting and an arts and crafts setup. V zipped right into that room and got herself situated to make a cute little craft, a ‘campfire’ made on the lid of a soup can. Beans are used for the stones, pretzels are the logs and red string is the fire. Cute? check. Fragile? check. Something I’m going to feel obligated to preserve? Well I took a picture. Is it wrong I don’t feel guilty about throwing most of her creations out?

Since we were in Vanier and it was lunchtime we decided to hit Louis’ Pizza. I hadn’t been there in ages and it didn’t disappoint (except for being out of banana cream pie). In summary, maple candy and pizza; weight loss be damned.


Flickr slideshow

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 4:00 pm

    Looks like you guys had a great time!!!

    • neeroc permalink*
      March 31, 2011 8:56 pm

      We did. I might just have a sugar addict on my hands

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

