Skip to content

Tidy up Tuesday extreme edition

April 5, 2011


(I’m sure anyone who knows me, or has ever set foot in my house is rolling, if not on the ground, then their eyes at the thought of me doing a Tidy Up Tuesday post)

Not sure if I’ve mentioned it yet *g*, but hubby and I have gone and bought ourselves a new (to us) house. We’ve been casually shopping for one since Oct. 09, but since it was always a hypothetical sort-of-want we have paid no attention to any preparations our house would need. One might even say we’ve neglected our house, possibly even stuffed it in anticipation of a larger house (we currently have a 37″ tv sitting in our hall. It was displaced from the family room by our new flatscreen. Frugal, not hoarder!)

Four pets meant stuff. A toddler means stuff. Hoping for another baby means hanging on to stuff. All the stuff I had before means stuff. Freecycle means easy access to free stuff. Jumping in to crafts feet first means lots and lots of really good stuff.

Buying a house (and subsequently having to sell ours) has kicked us into tidying up turbo. Our first order of business was to purchase 100 bins and fill them with as much of my stash, books, winter clothes and stuffed animals as they’d hold. I’m happy to say it’s made a dent. It also means we’ve filled our garage with bins:

tidyup2
Bye-bye stash, it’s not like I’ll have time for you in the next 2 months anyway. (strollers, they’re not just for babies anymore)

It also means we have many more bins in waiting, and I’m tired already:

tidyup1

Side bonus, freecycle has had a bonanza week too. Items are just pouring out the door which is a bonus for my 730 in 365.

Of course before and after photos didn’t occur to me until we’d torn my house apart, (LAME!) and there’s no way you get to see the disaster zone it is now! Phase II of the tidy up ‘roid rage will kick in tomorrow when our storage container is dropped off. Yep 16x7x7 of temporary storage might just do it. I was in one of our rooms tonight and it was empty enough to have an echo, wonder if that’ll happen in any of the other rooms? We’ll certainly have enough room to shuffle the rest of our furniture and get to patchin’ and paintin’…oy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 7:53 am

    I’m having flashbacks to our move last winter and the mountains of rubbermaid containers in our garage! There’s no better time than a move to clean house, literally and figuratively 🙂 Happy purging

  2. April 6, 2011 1:51 pm

    You BOUGHT all those bins?? Holy cow!! (This is why I haven’t moved in 21 years…!)

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 6, 2011 11:22 pm

      It’s true. My husband has a bit of a container obsession. BUT. I will mention they were on sale, and we checked this compared to buying moving boxes or renting those containers, and they were cheaper, AND we can resell them after we’re done.

Trackbacks

  1. How to tell you have too much crap « One day this blog will have a snazzy name

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

