Skip to content

Twenty-two years ago tonight

April 6, 2011

Twenty-two years ago tonight I:

Lied to my mother about studying for finals.
Made arrangements to stay with a girlfriend.
Drank my last drink.
Got stoned for the last time (well, unless you count the drooly-drugs they give you after surgery).
Teased my hair.
Bent a coat hanger doing up my jeans.
Slapped on a whole lot of makeup.
Went to a Metallica concert (the …and Justice tour if you’re curious).
Got knocked on my ass by a dude who flew out of the moshpit.
Met and was picked up (literally) by the man who became my best friend, my husband and the father of my child.

He doesn’t like me talking about him or posting his picture (and man do we have some doozies from the 80’s!) but I figure he’ll make an exception if I post about him today. He’d better, it’s our ‘anniversary’ dammit.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 12:33 pm

    happy anniversary 🙂

  2. April 6, 2011 1:29 pm

    i bet it was awesome hair!!

    happy anniversary.

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 6, 2011 11:20 pm

      Maybe even epic. I’ll have to see if any pictures survived. (Remember back in the day when you could actually destroy evidence?)

  3. April 6, 2011 1:50 pm

    Happy anniversary!

  4. Deb permalink
    April 6, 2011 2:51 pm

    I want to see an 80s pic! Happy “anniversary” you two 🙂

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 6, 2011 11:22 pm

      I’ll have to see if any survived.

  5. Anita permalink
    April 6, 2011 4:50 pm

    And you were the best ‘invisible’ roommate ever!! Happy anniversary to you both!

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 6, 2011 11:24 pm

      Dude. I still laugh about H-E-I-D-I-S E-G-G-S.

  6. April 6, 2011 5:27 pm

    That’s a lot of anniversaries. Congrats to you and hubs on 22 years, and to 22 years of sobriety!!!!! Love you both. Xoxo

  7. Dawn permalink
    April 6, 2011 7:05 pm

    22 years , I don’t think of you two as old enough to have been together that long. Time has certainly flown by.Congrats on both accomplishments. Happy Anniversary!! Lots of Love.

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 6, 2011 11:24 pm

      Thanks Dawn. We obviously started dating when we were 10 *g*

  8. April 10, 2011 6:11 pm

    Belated happy anniversary! I love reading about how people met and fell in love. We need more love and less hatred on the net. 🙂

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 12, 2011 10:05 am

      Thanks and I agree more love IS required.

Trackbacks

  1. Should have gotten the extra extended warranty | One day this blog will have a snazzy name

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

