Skip to content

While I wasn’t looking

April 8, 2011

That child of mine, she’s a sneaky one. While I’ve been caught up in the mundane details of life she’s been plotting a sneak attack. Right under my nose. And she nearly got away with it. So now, not only am I caught off-guard and scrambling to keep up, but I feel the shame, terrible shame of having missed the signs.

We’ve always read to V, usually at least 2 stories at bedtime, and of course any other time she wanted a book (well, except when it is dark, because I don’t care how cute you are when you crawl into my bed at 3am, I’m not reading, hell I’m probably not even opening my eyes). For months now we’ve been pointing out letters, usually the ones that mean something to her – V, C, B…A, L, P, S (that last one is her friend’s mother’s name. Not sure why she retains it but she does so we go with it). At story time we discuss how important letters are, how she will learn them and then be able to read and write stories on her own, how she’ll be able to share so many wonderful worlds.

This past weekend I was madly decluttering the living room, and placing my many, many books in boxes. As I closed each one I labelled it ‘BOOKS’ (seems reasonable right?). After the 10th box was loaded and labelled V came over and asked what it said. We pointed out each letter – B-O-O-K(that one gives her trouble, apparently I make them look like C’s)-S. Books! She came back several times and pointed out the letters and repeated ‘books!’

Then I gave her an empty box and asked her to pack up her own (considerable) bookshelves while I continued to work merrily away in the living room. Several minutes later she came running back to me and exclaimed, ‘Look mommy look! Books!’ She was pointing to the back of a workbook where they were advertising for other WORKBOOKS in the series. And right then, DING! I realized what was going on. She freaking found the word in a completely different context and recognized it. She’s making those connections. She’s working her way up to starting to read.

Close call. I mean I was what? A week away from walking in on her reading War and Peace?

IMG_2902

(V’s reaction as I typed the title? ‘Mommy, I see a V mommy, a V!’ [Which made total sense with my original title as it had a V in it])

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2011 5:22 pm

    Awww, cute! Can’t wait for that moment with my little guy. It’s coming soon I think! Sounds like V is a smart little cookie. 🙂

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 12, 2011 9:37 am

      Watch for it! I’m telling ya, they sneak up on you.

  2. Pam @writewrds permalink
    April 8, 2011 5:32 pm

    Very cool! And pretty exciting mom!

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 12, 2011 9:38 am

      I love it, love watching how she processes things and her mind develops.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

