Skip to content

I’m sure I’m over-thinking this

April 9, 2011

I’ve mentioned before how there is someone who should be in our lives but isn’t, so here’s a weird question – how do I go about telling them that we’ve bought a new house? Or do I even bother? I mean if this were a normal family (well, don’t bother asking her, she’ll claim there’s nothing wrong) this would be happy news that I’d be bursting to tell her. But we don’t talk. I mean she called me on my birthday in January, so I guess I could wait until the next obligatory birthday call…which would be September and way past our move date…and our phones would be disconnected. Hmm, I may have just answered my own question.

What would you do?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2011 12:39 am

    Oof. If I’m reading between the lines correctly, I’m familiar with this sort of situation myself (*if* I’m correct in my guess, I’d technically be in V’s position, but sort of yours as well since I’m an adult), except the line was VERY clearly drawn by them, so they know nothing about my life other than what they can pry out of my sister. If you don’t *really* talk as it is, I’d leave it until the next time you run into her. Or, could you just send one of those Canada Post change of address notification dealies? Then you’ve told her without actually having to call her, y’know? Good luck, either way – it’s not easy. 😦

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 12, 2011 10:03 am

      Ugh, families. We should have moved across the country.

  2. April 10, 2011 6:08 pm

    It’s hurtful when certain friends and family become distant and push you away, but have you tried calling this person and trying to calmly clear the air? Perhaps there is a reason for her behaviour.

    That might provide an answer to your question about whether to let them know your new address.

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 12, 2011 10:03 am

      The weird thing is, in her bizarro mind there’s nothing wrong, we have a great relationship. True story. The denial is strong in this one.

  3. April 11, 2011 12:29 pm

    To save yourself the stress and any hurtful words, a change of address card along with everyone else.

    I’ll send you a hug from me 🙂

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 12, 2011 10:06 am

      Here’s the wacky thing though, I’m not sure there would be hurtful words, as far as I can tell she thinks we have a great and normal relationship. Families are weird.

  4. April 14, 2011 10:16 pm

    I am in a very similar situation with my MIL right now. I completely get it and sympathize. Unfortunately I have no answers for you.

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 15, 2011 10:45 am

      It’s just so bizarre to me not to want to see your grandchild.

  5. April 18, 2011 1:14 pm

    i’d go with the change of address card. if she doesn’t want to communicate with you, no need to communicate with her.

    families suck. good thing we can pick our friends.

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 20, 2011 9:39 pm

      Man, I start to get panicky when I think about the stuff involved in moving. Change of address here, cancel service there. I wonder if I could hire a concierge.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

