Skip to content

Opening acts

April 14, 2011

Lately I’ve found myself thinking about concerts; the cool ones I’ve seen in the past, the ones I’ve recently missed (because apparently I live under a rock) and most specifically the opening acts.

One of the guys on TMZ (exactly what is their title anyway?) made a comment the other day about how people only show up for the main event, they skip the opening acts…and while that might have been true when I still drank (I don’t remember; that’s why I say it might have been true) I do know that we’ve almost always hit the opening act. It usually either gives us the opportunity to see another band we already like, or we have ‘discovered’ some bands that we’ve really gone on to enjoy.

I’ve realized I don’t remember the first concert I ever went to. I’m fairly sure it was either Motley Crue when they played the Bob or Cyndi Lauper. I thought maybe Corey Hart or Bryan Adams but I think those were later. Gimme a break, it was almost 30 years ago. Oh! It could have been the Bangles, or the B52s too, but they might have been opening for those other acts. See? Cool bands.

Anyways. Despite my daughter’s best efforts, I have a much better grasp on events of the 90s and present century, and here are some of the most memorable opening acts I’ve stumbled across:

Best over-all concert experience: Faith No More.Yes I was at that concert. Between James Hetfield burning himself up and Axl storming off the stage because he couldn’t read his teleprompter (true story – we were in the friends and family section at the side of the stage, and when they left, most of the crowd initially thought they’d return. Our vantage point allowed us to see them don bathrobes and hop in their golf carts. We had advance warning it was going to get nasty *g*), FNM was the only group that finished their entire set.

The oddest combo: Peeping Tom opening for The Who. The fricking Who man, I ACTUALLY GOT TO SEE THEM. SQUEE. (In case you didn’t guess – Favorite Band of All Time) Peeping Tom just didn’t click with the crowd, nor did they do a lot to get the crowd primed.

Ran out and bought the album sort of bands:
The Arcade FireOpened for U2 in 2005. Loved what seemed to be all 95 of them on stage and their odd-ball dancing.
Three Days Grace – Opened for Velvet Revolver in 2005. Needed to hear more as soon as my ears stopped ringing.
Skindred – Opened for Disturbed in 2009. Reggae metal, need I say more?

What discoveries have you made in opening acts? Who should I be listening to?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 11:50 pm

    I was thisclose to seeing Our Lady Peace at a seedy little night club before they were *Our Lady Peace*. That’s about as exciting as opening acts go… heh

    Are you listening to Mumford & Sons? LOVE. Also, the Foo Fighters new album is amazing. Let me know if you’re interested in either – I can, uh, “hook you up.” *shifty eyes* 😉

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 15, 2011 11:04 am

      Oh wouldn’t that have been cool!

      Love Mumford & Sons, totally thought they were a down east band. I’ll have to check out the Foo Fighters.

  2. April 15, 2011 5:26 pm

    My first concert was Cyndi Lauper at the Civic Centre, and the Bangles opened. Sounds like we were there together!!

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 18, 2011 9:24 am

      Sounds like! And thanks for fitting another piece into the puzzle

  3. April 18, 2011 9:06 pm

    Oh wow. I would have loved to have seen the Bangles. Or the Who. : ) I haven’t been to any concerts in years, & it’s hard to remember all the ones I DID see 30-odd (gulp) years ago, but I do remember that I saw Loverboy & Bryan Adams for the first time as opening acts for other bands. My husband actually saw Bryan Adams at a bar in Winnipeg just before he really hit the big time.

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 20, 2011 9:47 pm

      Opening acts and in a bar! Very cool. A couple of years ago I became determined to start going to concerts again. There were so many shows that were ‘final tour’ – Cher, Ozzy, The Who…and so many cool acts now out (I’m also sad I just missed Lady Gaga. What a show that would have been)

      The Who was amazing. I’d always regretted missing the past two shows when they were in Toronto, and I nearly passed on the chance to see them in Ottawa, it was only after seeing Blue Man Group doing Baba O’Riley.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

