Skip to content

We’re not normal

April 17, 2011

Normal parents would beg their families to babysit so they could do something fun like escaping for a romantic bungee jumping weekend. Normal parents would burn babysitting hours for entertainment, or maybe for…sleep. A not-crazy mom would spend child-free hours at the spa, or crafting or even reading. Real, adult-type books. The ones with chapters and without pictures.

We, however, spent a virtually V-free weekend busting our arses working on the house. Packing, painting, popcorn ceiling. Hubby was a painting machine, getting 3/4 of the house painted. We also managed to cram more of our really good stuff into the bin AND to rope my sister into storing 14 or so boxes for us. (with maybe more to come) Between the babysitting and the storage I’ll be in debt up to my eyeballs until the end of time.

Seriously though, my brother, sister and their spouses kick butt. V was with my brother and SIL from 7:30 Saturday until 8pm! They took her bowling. And today my sis and BIL had her over again (she was there last weekend) until after lunch.

Normal people wouldn’t look at their newly-spruced up home and think, ‘man this place isn’t half bad, maybe we shouldn’t move’. We then remember that the painting and decluttering didn’t help the layout issues we have, and snap right out of it. We’ve also sworn that we’ll set aside time to declutter and spruce up our house regularly from now on.

Normal people wouldn’t worry that the crap they loaded in the storage bin exceeds the weight limit. I have visions of the crane bending or the bottom breaking out and our really good stuff strewn across our front lawn.

Normal people wouldn’t be so busy the entire weekend that they totally missed the chance to use their Gymbucks. I’m seriously bummed about that one.

The only sign we’re normal is that we missed our pumpkin something fierce.

EDIT – as my lovely hubby pointed out, this is the SECOND weekend we’ve shipped her off with relatives, my SIL took V last Saturday and my sis had her on Sunday. A normal person would have remembered that she’d actually burned up DOUBLE babysitting credits *g*

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 1:16 am

    Nice post.
    It is so true
    🙂

  2. April 18, 2011 11:32 am

    Hehe – you’re normal cuz I bet ideally that’s not how you would have wanted to use the time. It’s just what you had to do – cuz we’re all adults now 😛

    I just convinced Eric to take a vacation day week after next…. so we can send the kids to school and daycare and paint the house. WOOT!

    😛

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 20, 2011 9:29 pm

      Wild and crazy we are. *g*

  3. April 19, 2011 6:39 am

    I say take advantage while it is on offer. And it is totally normal to use the time how you see fit. 🙂

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 20, 2011 9:48 pm

      I have the feeling we’ll be doing that a lot in the near future. I also fear the IOUs *g*

  4. April 19, 2011 8:56 am

    Any time sis! you know we love her!!

    and you didn’t need to write this to convince me that you are not normal 🙂

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 20, 2011 9:49 pm

      I’m fairly sure you wouldn’t have wanted yesterday’s shift *g*

  5. April 19, 2011 10:27 pm

    Nobody who is in the middle of buying/selling/staging/moving is normal. If you were normal, that would be weird.

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 20, 2011 9:49 pm

      Heh. Thanks…I think

  6. Vicky permalink
    April 25, 2011 2:13 pm

    You gotta do what you gotta do! I’m sure you’ll return the favour 😉

    • neeroc permalink*
      April 26, 2011 11:40 pm

      I get the feeling they’ll make sure we do *g*

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

