Skip to content

The Words We Use

May 3, 2011

“You’re such an idiot”. Said with a grin, one of my favorite retorts when, well, my husband is being an idiot. Or making me feel like an idiot. Or when we’re joking around.

“Don’t be such an idiot!” Said in anger, or frustration; to myself or my husband.

“If this idiot would just learn how to…” Usually followed by DRIVE.

(Unlike ‘stupid’ (as has been pointed out to me) not a word I usually use in V’s presence.)

Just a tiny word, barely offensive, needing to be paired with curse words to garner a reaction.

Until I discover that someone has been calling my 3-year old an idiot. Then I scream inside, ‘WHO DID THIS?’ Who breaks her little heart? Who breaks my heart? 3-years old is too early to learn that people suck.

Every morning when I drop her off I tell her three things:
Listen to your teachers, play nicely with your friends and only play with the friends that make you happy.

Spidey in a tree
It seems one of them got past her little defenses and has decided she’s an idiot. That word is too big to be used on a three-year old, even if by another three-year old.

Update: She wet the bed last night and she’s never wet the bed before. I don’t say that in the ‘oh it used to happen infrequently’ way, I mean ZERO times. I spoke to the school this morning.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 9:05 am

    Sigh. I wish kids weren’t mean. I wish they also understood what they were doing.

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 4, 2011 1:09 pm

      Makes me sad to wonder where she’s learning it too.

  2. May 4, 2011 10:22 am

    Oh, my heart is breaking for Miss V. Was the school any help? Give her extra squeezies from me, please

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 4, 2011 1:09 pm

      They’re going to keep an eye out for it. There are 3 of them that hang together and bully other kids. 2 boys do the pushing and shoving and this girl apparently name calling.

  3. May 4, 2011 3:58 pm

    the story and the photo broke my heart 😦

  4. May 5, 2011 5:20 pm

    being called and idiot at any age sucks, but to be called that at 3 just doesn’t make sense. how can kids be so cruel.

    you can tel miss v that the jellybean really like a girl who can pull off spider man pjs so well!

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 12, 2011 12:45 am

      I will. She loves her Spidey jammies and it’s almost time for me to go hunting for the next size. eep.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

