Skip to content

Conversations with V – Lingo and Loopholes

May 17, 2011

One morning we were talking about our L-named friends. We each have a friend named Laura, hers is LauraLoo and lives in Ottawa, mine is LaLa and lives in Singapore. I was trying to explain how far away that was and asked her if she wanted to look on a map. She replied, “Blog! Twitter! Mapper!” and burst out laughing. We then checked out that famous internet map and compared how far Ottawa was from Jamaica (her only flight and frame of reference) to how far Ottawa was from Singapore. Since then she will randomly come running up to me (and not always when I’m at the keyboard) and hurl, “twitter-blogger!” or “internetter!” or “mapper-internet-blogger!” at me and run away laughing. I’m fairly sure this is a three year old’s social media lingo equivalent of ‘doody head’

=====================================

Our kitchen has a pantry and this pantry is covered by 2 sliding cupboard doors. According to the rules of Corey, not only do these doors need to be closed, but they need to be closed a certain way. I can’t explain why, but much like a toilet paper over/under preference, the outermost door MUST be on the left. She has added to her repertoire and found another loophole:

She will run up to these doors, open one slightly and say, ‘this drives you NUTS, right mom?’ To which I agree.
She will then slam it open completely and state, ‘this drives you NUTS mommy.’ and again I agree.
Finally she will reverse their position and exclaim, ‘this drives you CRAZY!’ and I agree.

Who teaches her this stuff?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Deb permalink
    May 17, 2011 4:27 pm

    My first guess would be your Hubby!
    🙂

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 18, 2011 9:44 am

      You might just be on to something.

  2. Anita permalink
    May 17, 2011 4:52 pm

    LOL. I had to concede defeat and leave the damn cupboards open so I wouldn’t lose my mind!

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 18, 2011 9:45 am

      Oh, you have no idea how twitchy it makes me! Almost bordering on can’t eat, knots in my stomach.

  3. May 18, 2011 12:04 pm

    LOL

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

