Skip to content

Our real estate empire is fading away

May 27, 2011

In case you missed me cartwheeling around Twitter and Facebook earlier today, we’ve finally sold our house. Lest I lose my status as a supreme procrastinator, we close on the new house on Tuesday, so yes, we managed to sell our house with 2 days to spare. I know technically our close is way off, but it’s just different buying the next house and having no pending sale on this one. They tried to shave some off the price after inspection (um hello that’s why we dropped the price) so it was by no means a done deal

Just to recap:

At the end of March our 1.5 year search for a new home came to an end here:
house1

At which point we realized we were in no way ready to sell our current home:
DSC01430

So we did the logical thing and bought 100 rubbermaid containers:
tidyup1

Then rented a big-ass storage container to stash them in:
DSC00381

We proceeded to cram it full of our really, really important junk:
bin

Once we had the room we forced V into child labour:
DSC01366

DSC00515

And used a bit of improvisation to get the house ready for market in two weeks:
DSC00567

Just over a month of viewings sent us on adventures:

Did I mention this was the wettest May EVER?:
DSC01109

So a lot of our time was spent in or near water:
DSC01034-1

Also?
DSC01759

I’m fairly sure our van will smell like wet dog forever (good thing he’s cute):
Wet dog

Luckily we avoided this when some pretty big winds blew though:
Sucks. Not my house

Some unlucky relatives may have gotten their fill of us (and our wet, smelly dog):
Can we go now?

After hours and hours with bankers and lawyers (I have no pics, because really who wants to see that?) we’ve finally done it!:
4ts2tw75

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some boxes to pack and movers to call.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Claudia Petrilli permalink
    May 27, 2011 11:52 pm

    I actually DID miss you cartwheeling around Twitter and Facebook earlier today so…

    CONGRATS!

    🙂

  2. May 28, 2011 8:41 am

    That is fantastic news! Good luck on the move.

    In completely unrelated news, we have been searching for a light fixture exactly like that big bowl one in your photo for about 10 years now. Where did you get it?

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 28, 2011 9:17 am

      Thanks! As far as the fixture, I wish I had better news, but we got it from Freecycle!

  3. May 28, 2011 9:49 am

    You’re hilarious!!

    Congratulations on selling the house – talk about cutting it close!
    BTW: Your new house looks STUNNING! 🙂

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 30, 2011 2:24 pm

      Thanks, it’s a huge relief, although I did just realize that we’ve now got to pack up the rest of our stuff *g*

  4. May 28, 2011 6:46 pm

    Woo hoo! Congratulations! 😀

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 30, 2011 2:58 pm

      Thank you! I cannot wait to be done, done, done.

  5. May 28, 2011 11:54 pm

    Congrats! So what’s the secret to actually selling a house?

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 30, 2011 2:25 pm

      Dude, I don’t know. But I am surprised you aren’t more stabby.

  6. May 30, 2011 12:46 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog….I am so glad you found me so I could find you.I love your style but must tell you it is not easy to figure out how to follow you…..the word is in the teensiest letters. However, I am hooked up now.

    Congrats and best of luck on your new home.

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 30, 2011 2:30 pm

      Thanks Lois, I’ll see if I can sort it out and thanks for the follow!

  7. May 30, 2011 3:11 pm

    CONGRATS! that is truly i gigantic weight off, ain’t it. and going to a double garage house! *drool*

    • neeroc permalink*
      May 31, 2011 11:17 am

      Thanks!. The garage was a big selling feature for hubby. The only thing that didn’t make the houes perfect (in his eyes) was it’s lack of a pool.

      • May 31, 2011 3:19 pm

        but pools can go in. double garages are a little harder to add-on. 😉

        • neeroc permalink*
          May 31, 2011 11:59 pm

          ‘pools can go in’ – you are never allowed talking to my husband! *g*

  8. May 30, 2011 9:21 pm

    I love the story told in pictures. Congratulations!!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

