Skip to content

That parent

June 17, 2011

The one I never thought I’d be, well I’ve become her.

A bit of background: my mother had a fairly laissez faire attitude towards our bumps and injuries while we were growing up. For example, when I was quite young I was horsing around in the back yard with a neighborhood kid and she ended up landing on my neck (don’t ask). I remember hearing a snap and knowing I had to get to my mom. I was gasping for breath, and as I reached her in the vestibule, I managed to say something about my neck (she told me to stop being so dramatic) then my eyes rolled back in my head and I passed out. She decided the best course of action would be to put me to bed, and only when I was still complaining of a sore neck the next day did she decide to bring me to a doctor. Another example? I’ve fractured many fingers, many times. Twice that I can recall clearly, I fractured fingers (football and falling off a dirtbike), told my mother and she brushed it off with mutterings about it’s not that bad and here’s some ice. Here’s a tip: If you have to cut rings off fingers due to swelling, it’s probably something that a hospital should check out. *g* I’m still alive, there is no trauma or lasting issues from these sorts of things, I’m not whining, just observing her cool as a cucumber reactions. No therapy was required for any of these examples but I’ve always liked to think that when the day came I’d know what required medical attention.

Fast forward to last night and V is playing in the garden while I’m ripping up some sod. Last time I checked she’d torn some leaves off a tree-sized weed (seriously I have no idea what it is but it now has a trunk) and was beating an evergreen with them. Next thing I know she’s screaming blue murder and complaining that her tongue is burning.

(As an aside, it would appear that my child will only learn from experience – I tell her a hundred times don’t touch the toaster and it’s not until she burns herself that she learns. I tell her not to put stuff from the garden/lawn/random plants in her mouth…)

Back to screaming child, hubby casts dirty looks in my direction, takes her inside and gives her some milk. It’s obvious that she’s put something from the garden in her mouth, but I had no idea what (at this point I suspected the leaves she was playing with (sap didn’t bother me) or a spruce needle which poked her. Ten minutes later she’s still screaming so I went in to provide relief and discuss the situation. She was upset and had a papertowel on her tongue. She calmed down and wanted to go read with dad so I headed back to the garden and finished up about an hour later. As we were gathering our stuff to leave I asked her to point out what she’d put in her mouth, so she trundled over to a Calla and pointed to the seeds. Lesson learned I figured, even if she did keep sticking her tongue out as we wandered through Canadian Tire.

Google is a wonderful thing, too bad I used it this morning and not last night. Calla palustris seeds are poisonous. Turns out the milk was the right call for oxalic acid. I’d like to think that one seed didn’t do that much and if she started vomiting, got the runs or passed out we would have taken her to emerg.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nora permalink
    June 17, 2011 2:20 pm

    You would have taken her to emerg or just put her to bed based on your passed experiences?!!!! Love it Corianna – great story!

    • July 8, 2011 11:14 am

      Heh, Bill may never forgive me. Now I get hell for the laid back attitude AND the gardening *g*

  2. June 19, 2011 3:36 pm

    i think the neck thing might have sent me to the therapist’s couch. 😉 i tend to be the same with the jellybean. so far nothing too serious though.

    • June 21, 2011 10:52 am

      Heh. If I recall correctly, my father was out of town on business, so I can understand not wanting to trek around with a 7/5/4 yo in tow, but STILL *g*

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

