Skip to content

First day of school

September 11, 2011

Or how mommy needs to get her crap together. I totally missed the boat on the stress of starting school. Here I was worried about V, how she’d adjust, how she’d handle the new school and the new daycare, and it turns out it’s me that’s gotten the true shock.

V’s been doing pretty well at her new daycare (more on that later). But this isn’t really about her, it’s about me. Me, the one who can’t find her phone 3/4s of the time, me who forgets her appointments the minute after I make them, me the anti-scheduler. This first week I’ve managed to get her there with her lunch, her lunch drinks (thanks to hubby who sent her with juice AND milk on the first day, this is now the LAW), her water bottle, sunscreen, sunhat, indoor shoes, jacket, and change of clothes. Simple right?

Throw kindergarten in the mix and now she needs an additional snack, another pair of indoor shoes, another jacket, and another full change of clothes (plus the optional 12 pencils, 3 erasers, 2 gluesticks, metric ruler, markers, crayons and scissors) and we are bound to fail, actually, except for the fact that hubby and I headed to the daycare at lunch to watch her walk over to her class for the first time she wouldn’t have had any shoes for school. Luckily I snuck them over like I was totally prepared.

Then there’s the information. I need to keep track of a ‘note tote’ which needs to be returned to school each day. There’s also the school newsletter, available on the website, welcome letters, first day of school letters, and a handbook (!) and the board’s twitter account, which will post such useful information as bus cancellations. I’m sure there’s a phone tree in the mix somewhere.

Now let’s talk forms. I’m fairly sure I’ve been handed about 15 forms that I need to fill out, information about V, permission slips, media permission forms, forms shaking me down for money, requests to join the PA…ugh. Guess where they are? No really, guess, because I have no idea and I’m fairly sure they want them back on a certain day. I seem to remember signing up to make playdough for the class too…wonder which week I picked?

Oh, and meet the teacher night. That sort of falls under both information and scheduling. And it just occurred to me that we’ll probably need a babysitter that night. Huh. You know we’re going to miss it right?

I’m fairly sure that I’m going to fail kindergarten for V. How many days ’til school lets out?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 2:15 pm

    oh I know. I have 6 years as an elementary school parent under my belt and I still find it all so much. I have taken to putting everything into my google calendar. EVERYTHING. It is just easier that way. I was forgetting way too much.

    • September 12, 2011 3:38 pm

      aaaahhh! I was sort of pinning my hopes on her becoming self-sufficient (and maybe organizing me) by say….next year?

  2. September 12, 2011 7:08 pm

    ack! i think i either didn’t get a bunch of stuff or forgot a bunch of stuff. but i did remember the playdoh for this week. and i didn’t get any nasty notes in the jellybean’s backpack, so i imagine i did ok on day 1.

    good luck!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

