Skip to content

Maybe we’ll just move in to a hotel for the week

October 4, 2011

Conversation hubby and I had last week:

Hubby: Whoa, I nearly forgot I’m going to be in Toronto next week for a conference.

Me: *blink* *blink* I might have forgotten IF you had told me in the first place.

Hubby: I mentioned this conference  last fall.*

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all good with him going to the conference, going out of town, hiking the Himalayas  if he wants – I’m just looking for a bit of notice.

But here’s the real root of my stress – This post. I just know that the stupid mouse is going to go get itself snagged in the trap, but NOT DIE while hubby’s away. I’m seriously debating putting the traps away while he’s out of town, since I’m a squeamish hypocrite, I don’t do well with things I want to kill if they only come close to dying. And killing a mouse with my bare hands…I’m sure it’s a super power I don’t possess.

Mouse poop or mangled mouse? Which way do you lean?

*(Note: He just mentioned the conference. Not that he was going, or registered, or interested, just mentioned the conference. A year ago. How silly of me not to add it to the calendar.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 8:51 pm

    Since you went & killed that bug that was in Jen’s bed in the cabin last year, perhaps she’ll come over & get rid of your dead mouse for you, no?

  2. October 5, 2011 8:38 am

    Killing a mangled mouse isn’t all the easy physically either. My cat brought me one years ago, that wasn’t quite dead. I thought I’d do the poor thing a favour and finish it off. It didn’t go easily and I felt terrible as I probably caused it more distress before it finally passed on. I gave the cat a good talking to afterwards. I told her to make sure her presents were dead before she brought them home. She must have understood what I said. Every dead mouse she presented me with after that was without a head.

    • October 5, 2011 9:19 am

      Smart kitty, not only did she make sure they were dead, but she also made sure there wouldn’t be a bunch of zombie mice crawling around *g*

  3. October 5, 2011 3:47 pm

    I hate mice and rats! I screamed bloody murder when we had one scurry across the floor one time. I mean a scream came out of me that I have never heard before.

    • October 6, 2011 11:52 am

      lol. I’m not that bad, I just don’t want them living with me. Now earwigs on the other hand…

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

