Skip to content

Conversations with V – The Halloween edition

October 19, 2011

Weeks, maybe even over a month ago:
Me: Hey V! I found these cute costume patterns. Which one do you want mommy to make for you for halloween?
V: The dinosaur! The pink dinosaur!
Me: Awesome I love it, we’ll go shopping for fabric soon.

Several weeks go by:
V: Mom? I want to be a princess dinosaur
Me: Umm…okay (loving it, thinking quick add of a tiara and some tulle will do the trick)

A bit later, while in the second fabric store:
V: Mom, I love this fabric, no wait this. I’m going to be the best princess dinosaur EVER!
Me: Yes, yes you are. (Head stuck in stack of fabric bolts.)

5 minutes later:
V: Mom? I don’t want to be a dinosaur, I just want to be a princess.
Me: Easy, peasy, I have the pattern and fabric at home. Done!

2 days later:
V: I’m going to be the prettiest princess EVER!

Yesterday:
V: Mom? Can you be Dora and I’ll be Boots for Halloween?
Me: O_o

Excuse me while I go cry in my fabric stash.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    October 19, 2011 2:35 pm

    Oh dear …

  2. October 19, 2011 8:02 pm

    SO FREAKIN’ TRUE. It has taken me years, but I have learned not to invest too much of my time and energy into their costumes until 2 weeks in advance (maximum). They change their minds on a whim and it’s impossible to lock them down. If they don’t settle on anything, there’s always bum/pirate/gypsy available!

    • October 21, 2011 4:04 pm

      I’m starting to understand why store-bought costumes are so popular *g*

  3. October 19, 2011 9:48 pm

    Just wait. She’ll change her mind again.

  4. October 20, 2011 12:57 pm

    Oh yeah. Don’t decide yet. I mean, you know, wait til the VERY LAST MINUTE to be absolutely certain that you only have to do one costume, not 18.

    No clue what I’m gonna do when Petite gets to that stage. For now, I get to decide her costume. Well… with a little input. This year she wanted to be a ghost or a monkey. We ended up with monkey. Maybe next year it’s ghost…

  5. October 25, 2011 9:55 pm

    I’m so glad Bit doesn’t understand… Yet. V will be beautiful, whatever she settles on.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

