Skip to content

Assembly required

November 17, 2011

Having recently ditched our mis-matched, hand-me-down bedroom furniture and stepped in the just-out-of college phase of IKEA home decorating (yes I realize we are about 20 years late), both hubby and I are very familiar with the term ‘some assembly required‘. We’d entered this phase warily, having been warned that assembling Ikea furniture is second only to wallpapering on the list of projects couples should never tackle if they want to stay married.

We however, are proficient. We have a system, and luckily Ikea furniture rarely requires hammers, so there is a very low chance of bludgeoning. We’d considered ourselves contenders for the furniture assembly olympics. You might say we were cocky. You might say we were due for a schooling.

Let me introduce you to my reading lesson:

Note the lack of 'some'

Let me introduce you to a pile of kindling:

Two hours and many tears later, we now have a three basket shelf in our ensuite and I did not resort to calling that help line. But the really good news is V rocks at using a cordless screwdriver.

Lesson learned:
Always read the packaging, lest they define ‘Assembly required’ as a tree trunk and Skilsaw.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2011 3:41 pm

    “We’d entered this phase warily, having been warned that assembling Ikea furniture is second only to wallpapering on the list of projects couples should never tackle if they want to stay married.”

    LOL! Too true!
    No photo of your finished combined effort?

  2. November 19, 2011 7:56 pm

    Where’s the FO pic? Hmm? Plus where did you get this, what does it cost & is it worth it? I’ve been looking for something similar.

    • November 26, 2011 10:07 pm

      It was a CTC thing I think and we got it at 50% off, so it was worth it. I do wish the drawers were maybe 1″ taller, there are some items I can’t stand up in it.

  3. November 22, 2011 1:06 am

    where is the finished product!? 🙂

    • November 26, 2011 10:00 pm

      In my bathroom *g* oh you mean the pics…in my camera. Soon.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

