Skip to content

The moment

November 21, 2011

You know the one, Sunday afternoon, you’ve just returned home and you’re enjoying the first quiet moment in an action packed weekend when it suddenly hits you that your four year old’s social life kicks your social life’s ass. Or is it just me?

Since Thursday V’s had 3 play dates, a swimming lesson and a dinner. She’s got a baking date next Saturday and we’re fairly sure she’ll have another playdate on Sunday. We were out running around so much that we neglected dishes and laundry. I’m still trying to catch up now.

She also has at least two upcoming birthday parties. And is busy planning her own extravaganza. Which, according to her today will be a pink and purple princess affair. Let’s see what tomorrow brings.

The new year is getting even crazier – we’ll be putting her in ski and skating lessons, but dropping the swimming (it’s January, I’d prefer her not to turn into a popsicle every time she leaves the pool), while adding dance lessons. I’m fairly sure she’d like piano lessons too, but that’s just insanity.

What we should really be looking for is to get our adult lives back. My idea of a good time these days is heading out for an hour twice a week to go exercise and hubby has scheduled two evenings this week to go install an alarm in a friend’s house – we redefine wild and crazy.

Maybe I’ll go off and search for one of those fabled teenagers. The ones who will come to your home and look after your child if you happen to stumble onto getting a life…

It’s really no wonder she thinks she’s the centre of the universe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2011 12:58 am

    haha, she is such the social butterfly, I love it 🙂 Do you go on the playdates with her? Maybe try and trade time with some of the other moms? Works well with us an C’s parents!

    I recommend the teenager thing. Poach from Jenn’s sitters 🙂

    • November 26, 2011 10:06 pm

      I’m sure we’ll work up to the trading, but I think they first few visits are best supervised.

  2. November 22, 2011 4:25 pm

    I wish we had a teen aged sitter. I need to find one of them too. Mostly DH and I just do things separately which is nice but doesn’t help ‘us’

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

