Skip to content

One month later

December 8, 2011

Did you know I went on a non-knitting knitting retreat a month ago? No I didn’t think so; because I never posted about it.

Now when I say it was a non-knitting knitting retreat, I mean specifically for me. There were 60 or so perfectly organized, non-procrastinators who managed to sign up for the knitting class portion of the trip and attended the official program. I just wasn’t one of them.

Every year a contingent of knitwits head to Gananoque on the first weekend in November to attend the Sheeps Ahoy Needler’s Retreat. Not only could I not miss the fun, I would also take a month to blog about it.

I’m sure this year’s program was brimming with wonderful sessions, given by awesome ladies, imparting their considerable knowledge. I’m sure that if I hadn’t been a slacker and had been able to get my registration off to Deb in time I’d have attended more than just the vendors market and meals. Sadly, I am a considerable slacker, one who got her act together just in time to get her name on the waiting list…in the 13th position. Now considering there are a total of 60 places at this retreat, I was fairly well assured that short of illegal activities on my part I would not be part of the program.

And you know what? I was all good with that. Yep, I was all good with three days of hanging around, taking pictures, NOT rushing off to class, but chatting with friends and wool fondling. Saturday I hung with another slacker (place #14 on the waiting list *fistbump*) and Sunday I spent some time lying in the flower gardens playing with my camera. I also managed to cram in a camera session at sunrise and another at sunset. I did miss a gorgeous frosty Saturday morning, opting instead for the breakfast buffet. Mea culpa. You know what else I was all good with? Sleeping in.

So without further ado here are the results of my non-knitting knitting weekend:

DSC09242-1
The other side of sunset

DSC09238-1
Moonrise

DSC09147-2
I love this house and would have gone closer but I was afraid there was someone with a shotgun in there.

DSC09157
I made my friend Snorie stop all over the highway so I could snag some pics.

DSC09404-1

High-tech tree
Saturday night we were without wireless for about five hours. Now I know why it was so hard to troubleshoot.

DSC09318-1
Sunrise (yes I did manage to catch one)

DSC09444-1

DSC09137-1

DSC09429-1

DSC09095

DSC09105

DSC09036-2

DSC09048-1

DSC09171

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2011 4:22 pm

    Those are some seriously awesome photos! You should show them next BOLO!

    Procrastination has paid off! 🙂

  2. December 9, 2011 6:24 am

    You may have been right to fear the house. It looks a little like the one where bad things happened in Fried Green Tomatoes

    • December 14, 2011 9:09 pm

      Oh great, now I’m going to have to check it out!

Trackbacks

  1. 10 years on « One day this blog will have a snazzy name

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

