Skip to content

Everything is scary to a four year old.

January 25, 2012

Last Saturday was a rare, if not first ever, family movie night. We appear to have exactly 4 movies suitable for a 4 year old, so I’m thinking this will be a limited run type thing. Either that or we’ll get Netflix and do a lot of fast forwarding.

Now I’m not sure what exactly the kids these days are watching,* but it looks like our meagre selection has to be heavily edited. Take for instance Finding Nemo. Seems perfectly innocent, once you get past the scene where EVERYONE DIES! Then there’s the chasing and the being lost and the…hmm, seems we’re down to three movies on our list. Lion King? Forget. It. So we’re left with The Muppets and The Aristocats.

Ah, one of my favourites, The Aristocats. I mean, who doesn’t love jazz-playing cats? (Yes I know Edgar is the answer) What I thought was a pretty darn feel-good movie caused quite a bit of anxiety for the little one. From the bumpy night ride in the back of Edgar’s bike, right up until the cats were comfortably re-installed on their plumped up cushions, this movie was fraught with tension and near death experiences in V’s eyes. V spent the entire time with her head ducked under my arm, snuggled up as tight as she could get, uttering the odd whimper and asking if it was over yet. She’s a sensitive one that little blondie of mine.

I do still have hope though, the next day’s review seemed a little more upbeat, and glossed over the ‘scarier’ parts. Oh, and her final takeaway? “Timbuktu is the storage closet for bad guys!”

Now if you’ll excuse me I’ve got some children’s movies to pre-screen.

*just as long as they stay off my damn lawn!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 1:01 pm

    oh poor V. a friend of mine’s daughter has trouble with movies too. luckily for me, the jellybean was a couch potato coming out of the womb and doesn’t seem to be phased by any of the disney type movies.

    how about a barbie movie? i hear they are pretty sacrin but harmless?

    • January 25, 2012 5:15 pm

      hmm, I may have to get over my barbie ‘issues’ after all. *g*

  2. January 25, 2012 1:15 pm

    So many ‘kids’ movies are really scary, and E did not enjoy them. The original Winnie the Pooh movie and the new one are both pretty tame, as is Cars.
    The first movie we saw in the theatre was Beezus and Ramona, after we’d read the books.

    • January 25, 2012 5:14 pm

      There you go! She could totally handle Winnie the Pooh! Thanks

  3. January 25, 2012 8:53 pm

    Man, I love the Aristocats! My youngest was really into them for a while and our neighbour gave us an ancient Aristocats board game. LOVE IT.

    My older two kids were sensitive about movies too and we always had to skip a bunch of scenes in Finding Nemo. I would recommend, instead, the original Curious George movie – very gentle and sweet; also the latest Winnie the Pooh movie – lots of hijinks and everyone wanted to eat honey afterwards; and Toy Story 2 has a meanie but no real scary bad guy or scary parts. If you’re willing to try Barbie, my word I have seen my share of Barbie movies (I’m like a veteran in a home here)…some are good, some are awful. I would highly recommend Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus which I personally think is SHEER GENIUS (no irony, it is girly girl HEAVEN plus the plot is…not bad). It does feature a standard “bad guy” but the pretty pegasuses (pegasui?) and the fact that Barbie has great hair, a fluffy polar bear friend, and about a hundred fancy dresses does seem to make it all better somehow.

  4. Deb permalink
    January 26, 2012 7:27 am

    My V’s favourite is Tinkerbell and the Lost Treasure. We have watched it a million times I’m sure! She won’t watch Finding Nemo either, or Monsters Inc. or Beauty and the Beast or even Snow White! Too many scary bits.
    I agree with the newest Pooh Bear movie, we saw it in the theatre and she loved it!
    Let me know if you find any good ones!

  5. January 31, 2012 8:32 am

    Kids can find scary stuff in so many things. Like my cousin, age 6 then, who wouldn’t go to the first floor of my grandma’s house on his own even in the day time. The reason was this big old cupboard that creaked at the hinges and scared him off so much that he was convinced that we had a zombie in it!

    • February 2, 2012 9:19 am

      Oh no! I can see how that would be scary to him. Did you encourage him or tell him even spookier stories? *g*

  6. February 3, 2012 11:53 am

    Um, shocked that no one has suggested Dirty Dancing! 🙂

  7. February 12, 2012 11:49 am

    we are having a hard time with movies for Bit, also. Everyone dies! we also tried Nemo, but the darker waters left her cuddled up under her blanket with nightmares. We had some luck with Monsters Inc, once she decided that they were nice monsters. It actually helped to undo some nightmare trouble we were having. good luck in finding something to watch!

    • February 15, 2012 7:13 am

      Thanks, she watched the Jungle Book with her class the other day, so we have a new safe one to add to the list. I think I’m going to try Mary Poppins next.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

