Skip to content

Be careful what you wish for

February 12, 2012

I’ve been sort of adrift in my job for a while now. A fairly time consuming project I was slated to work on last fall ended up getting cancelled, leaving me with no real interesting work. And if there’s anything that kills my motivation it’s only having the mundane, repetitive, the meaningless, stretched out as far as the eye can see. I’m actually surprised I didn’t take a fork to my eye. And if you think I’m being melodramatic, well maybe a bit. But that cancelled project was an annual thing, and it wasn’t just scrapped this year, it was cancelled, done, removed, one more interesting thing gone forever, for all our sites.

Needless to say this year wasn’t looking too hot at the start. Then I was handed a revamp of our on-line education. Cool, different, up my alley and wouldn’t drag on forever. Then I was asked to do a different set of education modules. A bit longer project, potentially an annual education thing, and a bit of cat herding thrown in for good measure.

Then. Then I was asked to PM the IT security integration of not one, but two acquisitions. Concurrently and 3 provinces apart. Aaand my calendar has just been overfilled until October (but in a good way).

Two weeks ago I was also informed that the larger company was about to undergo a security audit…starting tomorrow. Saturday I received the approvals needed to travel to their location for the week, so tomorrow morning at 4am I hop in my trusty minivan *sigh* and hit the road, hoping to arrive for an 11am meeting.

I’ll be gone for the week, meaning I miss V-Day with the family and worse yet, I’d bought tickets to go see Disney on Ice (kick-ass ones at that). Yes I was going to choke down my hatred of all things pink and princess and bring V to the castle-y extravaganza. It made me a bit sad to look at those tickets when I handed them over to hubby, because I won’t be there to experience her awe, but it also amuses me to no end to think of him now sitting through the pink and tulle and saccharine spectacle.

On the plus side though, I think I’m really going to like these guys. In an IM on Friday I mentioned that it looked like I’d be there next week and my contact’s first response was, ‘Good! We should start planning our lunches.’ Seems they’ve got their priorities just right *g*.

Now if you’ll excuse me I have some packing to do.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2012 12:31 pm

    Good for you. Thing have certainly turned around! (Mundane? Not so much.) Hope you enjoy all the new opportunities and challenges and somebody gets a pic of hubby in pinkland. : )

    • February 15, 2012 7:13 am

      Oh me too. I should have taught V to use my camera!

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

