Skip to content

And done.

March 2, 2012

You could say I gave it a go, but you’d be lying.

I waited out the contractually mandated year and then cancelled my gym membership as soon as I could. When I contacted them to find out how I could go about doing this they seemed genuinely sad to see me go, which is weird given that other than the woman that signed me up I haven’t met a single one of them. Oh, maybe they had me in the easy money file.

Looking back now I kind of wonder why I kept it. Was it optimism? Was it the cancellation fee (would it have been the entire amount of the year anyway? Who knows.) No. If I’m being honest I’ll admit, especially after abysmal attendance (or, if you’d prefer the positive spin – perfect non-attendance) that the reason I didn’t cancel sooner was just plain laziness. I mean I wish I could even say it was hard work neglecting the membership, but it really wasn’t. That card just sat quietly in the wallet I don’t use, tucked in an off-season purse, in the basement. It may have been a bit smug in its declarations, but I showed it in the end now didn’t I?

Devil never bothered with that coat did he?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2012 7:00 pm

    What a relief that must be! In my youth, I signed up for an exercise club and never went as well. I had high hopes but didn’t want to go alone, not to mention I hate exercising. Now I know better than to get myself into anything that just isn’t my style. Fitness clubs really aren’t for everyone, nothing is. You’re not alone and be happy that this weight of obligation (put on yourself by yourself) is now over! 🙂

    • March 4, 2012 12:14 pm

      Thanks, I don’t know why I thought this time would be different. Hopefully I’ve finally learned.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

