Skip to content

Training a minion

March 3, 2012

Today was a big day for V and me, we’d decided earlier in the week that we’d spend some time in the craft room on Saturday and I’d teach her how to sew. This slowly morphed into a girl’s day. We started with a dip in the jet tub, we shopped like maniacs, I took her to one of my favourite pho places, then home again for the crafting.

As is usually the way, I didn’t really have a plan for the sewing lesson, but I knew I wanted it to be more exciting than learning how to make straight lines on a plain piece of fabric. A quick check of the calendar showed it was coming up on St. Patty’s day, and in a blink we had a theme! A theme I say, not so much a pattern, or project. Luckily winging it is my speciality, and our epic shopping had gained both sheets of green felt and shamrock decorations (both, as it turns out, handy for March 17th themed sewing projects) A few traced lines,

20120303-232921.jpg

A couple of cut out shapes and we were ready to roll. V found this part of the process pretty darn boring, so I sent her diving through her bead collection for some suitable accessories.

20120303-233054.jpg
My next challenge was of my own making. I apparently forgot how to use my bobbin winder. Here’s so free advice. If it looks crazy and out of control, and amuses the heck out of a four year old, it’s not going to end well:

20120303-233507.jpg

Once we resolved that issue we went on safari for some ribbon, then pre-threaded the beads. Pinning was left to the experts, and we were ready to roll.

20120303-233112.jpg

20120303-233915.jpg

You can believe this or not, but it actually did occur to me that V would be too short to man both the pedal and the sewing. Having witnessed the maniac that is my daughter I made the call to be in charge of the speed. (Any of you ever read ‘There’s a spider on the floor’? Those illustrations at the back are what I was envisioning, only with needles and thread instead of sticky spider silk).

Anywho, a quick lesson later, and she was guiding those shamrocks through the machine like a pro!

20120303-233429.jpg

20120303-234013.jpg

And then I half-assed the job of hanging it:

20120303-234436.jpg

Then we were back to the important stuff. Girls day just wouldn’t be complete without a mani!

20120303-235009.jpg

20120303-235018.jpg

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    March 4, 2012 6:06 am

    Sounds like a perfect day. Shopping, pho, manis and great company?! How awesome is that?!

    • March 4, 2012 12:14 pm

      It was pretty darn awesome. I’m going to have to (un)plan these more often

  2. Nora permalink
    March 4, 2012 9:13 am

    Love it – what a great day you two ladies had!! I suppose I should get my butt in gear and think of a St. Patrick’s Day project (and Easter project) for the boys….mine will be drinking green beer and eating chocolate

    • March 4, 2012 12:14 pm

      Go easy on that green beer – I’ve seen what it can do to you *g*

  3. March 4, 2012 10:25 am

    Love this! I miss sewing and must really get my Mom’s old machine in for a good cleaning so it can be used again. I wonder if my 5 y.o. Little Man would like to give it a whirl? Sounds like you had a great girl day!

    • March 4, 2012 12:15 pm

      We did. As for you son, most boys I’ve met have either loved the craft or loved the machine, so it tends to be a win *g*

  4. March 4, 2012 12:25 pm

    You are such a good mom Coreen!

  5. Sara permalink
    March 4, 2012 6:50 pm

    We all need a minion!! Especially the variety with small, nimble fingers 😉

    • March 5, 2012 9:27 pm

      Oh ya, now we just need to work on the listening skills…and things like ‘don’t cut off Mom’s fingers’

  6. Donna permalink
    March 8, 2012 7:11 pm

    Awwww…..what the world needs are more MOM’s like you…….special times together make the most wonderful mother/daughter relationships……..

  7. March 21, 2012 9:36 am

    Wow, the garland looks awesome! And sounds like a perfect day 🙂

    • March 21, 2012 11:43 am

      Thanks very much! And it was a great day, we need to do them more often.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

