Skip to content

Lesson in selling cameras online

March 17, 2012

I’ve been frustrated with my camera for a while now, and occasionally go on line to look for the camera I really, really want. No I don’t need it, I mean the body alone is $3100, but we can all dream right?

After a depressing round of not finding a new one on sale I decided to search on line ad boards for used ones. They aren’t offered very often, and when they are they’re usually hours away, so there’s no real danger this will be an impulse buy. (Word to my hubby: if I disappear for 9 or more hours one weekend you might want to take a closer look in my camera bag.)

As luck would have it, there were two ads for me to chose from, one was just a body, for a fairly decent price, but the gas I would have used driving there would have wiped out any savings when compared to a new body.

The second was for a kit: body, charger, 2 batteries, 4 lenses, ring flash, bag and 4Gig memory card (really?). The price was kick-ass, about 50% of new so I decided to check it out. The ad wasn’t overly gushy but did contain the following line: All lenses like new.

And then went on to provide pictures. Let’s have a look:

Seems decent enough, but let’s have a closer look at that lens on the left:

Did you spend some time in the desert shooting a war with this thing?

Hmm, well let’s have a closer look at that THREE THOUSAND DOLLAR body:

What? did you try and use rocks as lenses?

I will give the seller credit for making no claims as to the condition of the camera body, but I would like to point out that my five and a half year old body, which I in no way baby, is in better condition than this. (And if I had another camera I would be able to show you pictures as proof!)

So here is today’s helpful lesson in selling cameras online, heck I might even call it rule #1: Either lie or include pictures, never both.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2012 5:19 pm

    I recently bought a Canon G12 as an upgrade to my G11, which had a whacky dial controller and two scratches on the lenses. Happy with the upgrade.

    I’ve never owned a DSLR, or SLR (and I’m old enough that I should have), because … they’re too damn big. And expensive – I’m a cheapskate. I rationalize non-DSLR cameras as “now I have to prove I have some skill, shooting with a crap camera and all”.

    Also have a top-of-the-line waterproof non-DSLR. Really crap. No shutter speed control, only exposure control. Now I really got to show my skill.

    I don’t have much skill, but I love trying.

    Pictures: http://www.flickr.com/photos/pmuellr/

    • March 18, 2012 9:25 pm

      Oh, I do like that camera. I’ve been trying to convince hubby that he “needs” one, mainly in the hopes that he’d want me to carry it around in my camera bag. Sadly, he went out and got an iPhone 4s, and that thing’s camera is fairly decent!

      I’ve added your stream, and I have to say that I’m insanely jealous of you guys being in the water already *g*

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

