Skip to content

My first SOC Sunday post.

March 18, 2012

#SOCsunday

I’ve been meaning to do this for a while now, but I’ve usually either gotten to Fadra’s too late or just haven’t felt the topic. This one, I can gush about for hours, so count yourselves lucky I only had 5 minutes.

Today’s (Optional) Writing Prompt: How do you feel about where you live?

Hubby and I lived in our first house for 15 years. We bought it the same year we were married and it’s the house we brought V home to. We bought the house we’re currently living in in July of last year, and I can say, without hesitation, we LOVE it. All of us. It doesn’t happen so much anymore, but every now and then hubby and I will look at each other and just come out with, ‘man I love this house’. Not only do we love this house, we don’t miss the old one in the slightest.

It fits us, it’s the layout we were looking for (and look we did, for almost a year and a half), it’s got room for all our junk (and room for some new junk), it has a decent sized yard, and needs just enough modernizing to keep us out of trouble (it was built in 1986 – our last one was built in 1965)).

We love the neighbourhood, V’s school, her daycare. We’re close enough to the village that we can walk over to Main St. (I kid you not), and hubby can walk to work. We’ve got trails and ponds and nature surrounding us and we can see the stars when we look up at night.

And we’ve got friends nearby. Most of the knitwits are in within 5 minutes drive (or a slightly longer bike ride),  we have friends in the same hood, and even though we haven’t taken advantage of any of them yet, there are at least 4 children of babysitting age on our street alone *g*.

My only complaint might be that there are too many empty bedrooms, but that’s not really the house’s fault is it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2012 11:35 am

    Love this and it’s your first SOC. I did my first one a few weeks ago and love the format.

    What a great community in which you live. You can tell how special it is to your family. Get after those sitters. I remember have lists and lists of names and numbers so that we could escape for an evening here and there.

    • March 19, 2012 6:10 pm

      Very cool! Thanks for stopping by, I’m still making my way through all the posts. And you’re right, I’ve really got to convince hubby that we need that list of babysitters *g*

  2. Fadra permalink
    March 24, 2012 11:00 pm

    I want to live where you live. Seriously. My problem is that I am living in a house I love. I’m worried that i have no one else to go but down.

    • March 25, 2012 9:18 am

      It took us a long, long time to find the right place. We loved our old neighbourhood (and location) but weren’t fans of the house, we really lucked in finding this place. We found it really helpful to just look casually when we could – going to open houses to see what was out there.

C'mon, tell me what you think. You know you want to!

